Senate Meeting Minutes – December 2, 2020

Graduate Student Government Senate Meeting

December 2, 2020
2:00 pm – 3:30 pm
Zoom Recording: http://bit.ly/SMgsg1202

AGENDA

  1. Guest Speakers from SAIL
  2. Student Group Approval – Data Analytics Engineering Student Organization (DAESO)
  3. Senator Appreciation
  4. Breakout Rooms

 

ITEMS DISCUSSED

Executive Vice President Divya Subbaian opened the meeting.

1. Guest Speakers from SAIL

Vincenza Parella, Digital Communications Specialist

Priyanka Gujja, President SAIL Student Club

SAIL is a mobile and web platform that was built by Northeastern to maximize students’ experiential learning while at Northeastern and beyond.

SAIL platform helps students in the following areas:

  • Find experiences at Northeastern that best meet the students’ goal
  • Capture those experiences and the learning from the experiences digitally and hold onto them for life
  • Connect & Express the experiences of the students together to see all the experiences come together to prepare students for future experiences
  • Network with peers, alumni, and educators to expand the students’ learning

Why SAIL?

SAIL gives the tools to students to take charge of their experiential learning. Centers on a framework of learning, SAIL provides a way for all experiences at Northeastern to be tagged to specific learning outcomes. This way, as students move from experiences to experiences, students see how they are developing in key skills and masteries.

The SAIL Framework is a holistic approach to learning that lets students capture their growth in every experience. It includes (1) Intellectual agility, (2) Global mindset, (3) Well-being, (4) Social consciousness and commitment, and (5) Professional and personal effectiveness. Each of these dimensions contribute equally to students’ journeys.

SAIL Student Club – The organization addresses how to create student engagement in SAIL. The club helps students understand what SAIL is, why to use it, and how to use it for students’ benefits. In order to do this, the club host biweekly workshops, competitions, social events, and much more.

Contact information:

Vincenza Parella, Digital Communications Specialist, v.parella@northeastern.edu, (617) 373-2572

Priyanka Gujja, President SAIL Student Club, gujja.p@northeastern.edu

Address: 520 International Village, 360 Huntington Ave., Boston, MA 02115

Download the SAIL app in the App Store or Google Play

To join the club or to be added to the SAIL Student Club mailing list, send an email to dangelo.k@northeastern.edu.

2. Student Group Approval – Data Analytics Engineering Student Organization (DAESO)

President Murali Manohar Murugesan presented information about Data Analytics Engineering Student Organization (DAESO). The organization’s mission is to create a learning environment for the student community by organizing and hosting a wide variety of events that foster professional development. DAESO hosts a variety of events, such as workshops for programming skills, Python Workshop, Hackathon competitions, panel discussions with industry experts, student orientation sessions, and Co-op Connect events. The group ensures that every student gets ample opportunity to empower themselves with constant learning and access to up-to-date information about the data analytics industry.

Membership provides priority registration for events, regular digest of news and articles related to data analytics, technical workshops exclusive to members, 1-to-1 resume review from data analytics professionals, course and professor selection guide, and networking opportunities.

The organization is conducting current meetings through Zoom.

Membership is open to engineering students, but it is open to other Northeastern University students with a related discipline.

Voting by the Senate

Result: Approved (81% senators voted yes)

3. Senator Appreciation

Divya Subbaian recognized the following Graduate Student Government Senators for their participation and contribution to GSG this Summer, Fall 2020: https://www.northeastern.edu/gsg/the-graduate-senate/

4. Breakout Rooms

Dispersed into break-out rooms for 10 minutes

Contest Reminder:

The Virtual Scavenger Hunt is on December 8th. More information will be provided soon.

This is the last meeting for the semester. A new calendar for the next semester’s meetings will be shared soon.

Happy Holidays!

 

ADJOURNMENT

The Senate meeting was adjourned at 3:38pm by the President Gagan Prabhu.

 

Meeting Attendance

S.NoName Northeastern EmailCollegeCommittee
1Abhishek Ningalaningala.a@northeastern.eduKhouryNone, I don't want to sign up for committees!
2Aditi Jainjain.adit@northeastern.eduCOENone, I don't want to sign up for Committees!
3Aishwarya Majjagimajjagi.a@northeastern.eduCOEBudget Priorities - Survey Analyst
4Alfred Navatonavato.a@northeastern.eduCOEPrograms and Operations Committee
5Arushii Kalsikalsi.a@northeastern.eduCOENone, I don't want to sign up for Committees!
6Ashishkumar Bidapbidap.a@northeastern.eduCPSNone, I don't want to sign up for Committees!
7Chirag Patelpatel.chir@northeastern.eduCOEBudget Priorities - Survey Analyst
8Danzel Jonesjones.danz@northeastern.eduGraduate Student Organization (Please specify below)None, I don't want to sign up for Committees!
9David Samuel Nallapunallapu.d@northeastern.eduCOEStudent Affairs Committee
10Deependra Singhsingh.de@northeastern.eduCOE-
11Divya Subbaiansubbaian.d@northeastern.eduCOE-
12Gagan Dep Prabhuprabhu.g@northeastern.eduCOE-
13Grania Machadomachado.g@northeastern.eduKhoury Marketing and Outreach Committee
14James Goodwingoodwin.j@northeastern.eduCPSMarketing and Outreach Committee
15Jared Beaulieubeaulieu.ja@northeastern.eduD'Amore-McKim Programs and Operations Committee
16KamaleshKore.k@northeastern.eduCOEPrograms and Operations Committee
17Nachiket Dhamankardhamankar.n@northeastern.eduKhoury None, I don't want to sign up for Committees!
18NAGESH RAMESH KADAGATHURnageshrameshkadaga.n@northeastern.eduCOEBudget Priorities - Survey Analyst
19Nikunj Doshidoshi.nik@northeastern.eduCOEBudget Priorities - Survey Analyst
20niranjan vaidyavaidya.nir@northeastern.eduCPSInvolved in Strategic Planning Committee
21Orhun KokKok.o@northeastern.eduCOSNone, I don't want to sign up for Committees!
22Pallak SinghSingh.pal@northeastern.eduGraduate Student Organization (Please specify below)None, I don't want to sign up for Committees!
23Prajakta Deshpandedeshpande.pr@northeastern.eduCOE-
24Pudsadee Leelahasilpleelahasilp.pu@northeastern.eduD'Amore-McKimStudent Affairs Committee
25Reema YadavYadav.ree@northeastern.eduCOE-
26Romaric Belmier Mbakopmbakop.r@northeastern.eduCOEStudent Affairs Committee
27Samuel ChuanChuan.s@northeastern.eduCAMDMarketing and Outreach Committee
28Sandeep Karapa Srivatsav karapasrivatsav.s@northeastern.eduCPSMarketing and Outreach Committee
29Santhoshi Bathinabathina.s@northeastern.eduCOE-
30Shamika Shirish Gogategogate.s@northeastern.eduCOEPrograms and Operations Committee
31Shivendra Pandeypandey.sh@northeastern.eduCPSStudent Affairs Committee
32Sisir pasumartipasumarti.s@northeastern.eduCOEBudget Priorities - Survey Analyst
33Snehal Zagadezagade.s@northeastern.eduCOEAcademic Affairs Committee
34Sriram Ravindranravindran.s@northeastern.eduCOEStudent Affairs Committee
35Sudheer reddyGaddam.su@northeastern.eduCOEStudent Affairs Committee
36Taylor Lemieux Lemieux.t@northeastern.eduD'Amore-McKim Programs and Operations Committee