Senate Meeting Minutes- February 01, 2020

Graduate Student Government Senate Meeting
February 01, 2020
12:00 pm – 1:30 pm
333 Curry Student Center 

 AGENDA

  1. Officer updates by the Executive Board
  2. Questions by the Senate
  3. Lunch

 

ITEMS DISCUSSED

1. Officer updates by the Executive Board

a. Vice-President of Programs and Operations – Karan Kamlesh Parikh

Karan welcomed all senators to the second senate meeting for Spring 2020 semester. The following topics were discussed:

  • Spring 2020 Brunch – an event organized for welcoming new students to provide them a platform to socialize and make new connections over food. A convenient date for the event was discussed – tentatively shortlisted as of February 22, 2020.
  • Programs and Operations committee 

b. Vice-President of Academic Affairs – Harshita Gupta

Responsibility: Deals with academic issues of graduate and PhD students

  • RISE Awards 2020: an event where students present their academic research. The event aims to provide insights on research being conducted in Northeastern University by our contemporaries. GSG sponsors the Graduate Innovator Award (GIA). Event date: April 9th, 2020.
  • Academic Affairs committee 
  • Survey: A semester wise survey pertaining to academics at Northeastern. Responses will be collected, analyzed and reported at a future senate meeting to understand issues to focus and improve on.

c. Vice President of Marketing and Outreach – Divya Subbaian 

  • Consensus on meeting schedule: Senators voted on senate meeting day for the semester. Options included Wednesday, Friday, and Saturday. Most senators voted for Saturday meetings.
  • Accessibility: efforts by GSG to connect with students on a personal level to be more accessible to all. Focus on maximizing participation from different colleges by considering their specific needs and finding a common ground.
  • Primary approach: Attend all 9 college’s orientations to spread awareness about GSG and evaluate feedback to develop better relationships
  • Marketing and Outreach committee: meeting minutes, social media, website updates, photography, design of promotional materials, identify strategies to enhance GSG’s presence 
  • Student Organization involvement: Representation at senate meetings. This will enable them stay in touch with students interested in joining them.
  • Regional campus: a pilot run of extending GSG’s benefits to the Seattle campus to check feasibility and make it an initiative involving not just GSG but all Northeastern. The values of Northeastern of ‘One Northeastern, diverse network, academic excellence, global university, inclusive community, and experiential learning’ resonate through its 7 regional campuses.

d. Vice President of Student Affairs – Deependra Singh

  • Student group data: transition from OrgSync to Engage/CampusLabs; Some data lost during transition, but a significant portion received from Center for Student Involvement (CSI). Focus on rebuilding the database.
  • Recognition of groups: update on the usual process with a 6-month trial to gauge performance, sustainability, etc. on a budget of around $500 to ensure the student activity fee is better utilized.

 

2. Questions by the Senate

  • Difference between Student Affairs and Academic Affairs committees?

Answer: Academic Affairs deals with problems regarding curriculum, and professors. Student Affairs is concerned with forming and improving coordination between various student clubs

  • Why should students join or reach out to GSG?

Answer: GSG is student-run and has a collective pool of students who can relate to the issues better. GSG also has leverage in reaching out to the right offices to address issues. 

  • Shashwata Naik, Senator, Marketing and Outreach committee suggested GSG host more informal events like lunch to network among GSG patrons and share insights, information and resources.

 

3. Lunch

 

ADJOURNMENT

The senate meeting was adjourned at 1:30 pm by the Executive Vice-President.

 

Meeting Attendance

S.No. NameHusky Email IDCollege Committee
1Abhijeet Durve durve.a@husky.neu.eduCOE
2Abhishek Sureshsuresh.ab@husky.neu.eduCOEMarketing and Outreach Committee
3Aditya SharmaSharma.aditya@husky.neu.eduCOEAcademic Affairs Committee, Programs and Operations Committee, Marketing and Outreach Committee
4Babatunde Aideyanb.aideyan@northeastern.eduBouve
5Ankita Mahapatramahapatra.an@husky.neu.eduKhouryStudent Affairs Committee
6Ansh VaghelaVaghela.a@husky.neu.eduCPSPrograms and Operations Committee, Marketing and Outreach Committee
7Arushii Kalsi kalsi.a@husky.neu.eduCOERegional Campus Committee, Marketing and Outreach Committee
8Aryan Patidarpatidar.ar@husky.neu.eduCOERegional Campus Committee, Marketing and Outreach Committee
9Atharva KousadikarKousadikar.a@husky.neu.eduCPSFinancial Affairs Committee, Student Affairs Committee, Marketing and Outreach Committee
10Deependra Singh d.singh@northeastern.eduCOE
11Divya Subbaiand.subbaian@northeastern.eduCOE
12Hariessh Kumar Badrinarayananbadrinarayanan.h@northeastern.eduKhouryConstitution Committee, Academic Affairs Committee
13Harsh Natvarlal Sindhwasindhwa.h@husky.neu.eduCPSFinancial Affairs Committee, Student Affairs Committee, Marketing and Outreach Committee
14Harshit Vijayvijay.h@husky.neu.eduCOEConstitution Committee, Financial Affairs Committee, Programs and Operations Committee
15Harshita Guptah.gupta@northeastern.eduCOE
16Huiyu Huanghuang.huiy@husky.neu.eduCOE
17Indranil Ranjit Salvisalvi.i@husky.neu.eduCOEStudent Affairs Committee, Academic Affairs Committee, Programs and Operations Committee
18Jugal Sandeep Shethsheth.h@husky.edu.neuCOEStudent Affairs Committee, Academic Affairs Committee, Programs and Operations Committee, Marketing and Outreach Committee
19Kapil Patilpatil.ka@husky.neu.eduCOEStudent Affairs Committee, Programs and Operations Committee
20Karan Parikhk.parikh@northeastern.eduCOE
21Kaushik Hollavaderhoblimadhavak.k@husky.neu.eduKhouryStudent Affairs Committee, Academic Affairs Committee
22Kunj Mithaparamithapara.k@husky.neu.eduCOEStudent Affairs Committee
23Kush Sanjay Adhvaryuadhvaryu.k@husky.neu.eduCOEConstitution Committee, Financial Affairs Committee, Student Affairs Committee
24Mandar Suryawanshisuryawanshi.m@husky.neu.eduCOEConstitution Committee, Student Affairs Committee, Programs and Operations Committee
25Margeshpatel.marge@husky.neu.eduCOEFinancial Affairs Committee, Student Affairs Committee, Academic Affairs Committee
26Matthew Gonzales Gonzales.ma@husky.neu.eduSchool of LawConstitution Committee, Financial Affairs Committee
27Miral Dalal dalal.m@husky.neu.eduCOEFinancial Affairs Committee, Student Affairs Committee, Academic Affairs Committee
28Mohamed Raashiedraashied.m@husky.neu.eduCOEStudent Affairs Committee
29Mrugendra Manerikarmanerikar.m@husky.neu.eduCOEFinancial Affairs Committee
30Nitesh Tamore tamore.n@husky.neu.eduCOEFinancial Affairs Committee, Academic Affairs Committee, Marketing and Outreach Committee
31Omkar ShindeShinde.o@husky.neu.eduCOERegional Campus Committee, Programs and Operations Committee, Marketing and Outreach Committee
32Omkar Tiwaretiware.o@husky.neu.eduCPSStudent Affairs Committee
33Palash Chandrakarchandrakar.p@husky.neu.eduCOERegional Campus Committee, Financial Affairs Committee
34Parag Narkhedenarkhede.p@husky.neu.eduCOEFinancial Affairs Committee, Programs and Operations Committee, Marketing and Outreach Committee
35Parth Gadhavigadhavi.p@husky.neu.eduCOEMarketing and Outreach Committee
36Preeti Bholebhole.p@husky.neu.eduCPSRegional Campus Committee, Academic Affairs Committee
37Rashmi Rajendra Joshi joshi.ras@husky.neu.eduCOERegional Campus Committee, Constitution Committee, Financial Affairs Committee, Student Affairs Committee, Programs and Operations Committee, Marketing and Outreach Committee
38Ruchira Niralenirale.r@husky.neu.eduCOERegional Campus Committee, Marketing and Outreach Committee
39Rupesh Alasundkaralasundkar.r@husky.neu.eduCOEStudent Affairs Committee
40Rushabh Chopdachopda.r@husky.neu.eduCOEStudent Affairs Committee
41Sai Sravan Bandarubandaru.s@husky.neu.eduCOEAcademic Affairs Committee, Programs and Operations Committee
42Santhoshi bathinabathina.s@husky.neu.eduCOEMarketing and Outreach Committee
43Shachipatel.shac@husky.neu.eduCOSPrograms and Operations Committee
44Shashwata Pritam Naiknaik.sh@husky.neu.eduCOERegional Campus Committee, Student Affairs Committee, Marketing and Outreach Committee
45Shouvik Ashash.s@husky.neu.eduCOEFinancial Affairs Committee, Academic Affairs Committee, Programs and Operations Committee
46Sohan Pisepise.s@husky.neu.eduCOEPrograms and Operations Committee, Marketing and Outreach Committee,
47Sourabh Chakkechakke.s@husky.neu.eduCOE
48Srikar Vuppalanchivuppalanchi.s@husky.neu.eduCOEAcademic Affairs Committee
49Suryanarayana Malladimalladi.s@husky.neu.eduCOEStudent Affairs Committee
50Tanay BhagwatBhagwat.t@husky.neu.eduCOSStudent Affairs Committee, Academic Affairs Committee
51Tharun Krishnadayalan.t@husky.neu.eduCOEFinancial Affairs Committee, Academic Affairs Committee, Programs and Operations Committee
52Xiaomeng Pengpeng.x@husky.neu.eduCOE