02.18.14 — A Northeastern University School of Law team garnered top honors for Best Brief and also earned third place in overall team rankings at the 23rd annual Saul Lefkowitz Moot Court Regional Competition, held at the United States District Court for the Eastern District of New York in Brooklyn on February 8. The competition was hosted by the International Trademark Association (INTA).

The competition involved an analysis of a mock case concerning issues arising in United States trademark and unfair competition law. Teams were asked to submit an appellate brief followed by oral arguments in front of a three-judge panel.

Seventeen teams from 14 law schools in the Eastern Region were judged in the following categories:

  • Best Brief (Highest brief score in region)
  • First Place Team (Highest combined brief plus oral score)
  • Second Place Team (Second highest combined brief plus oral score)
  • Third Place Team (Third highest combined brief plus oral score)

The winning team, including Mayumi Grigsby '15,  Jose Sanabria '14, Mery Pimentel '14 and John Naranja '14, collaborated in preparing the brief, while Grigsby and Naranja presented (both sides) for the oral arguments.

The First Place team overall was Boston College Law School and the Second Place team overall was Columbia University School of Law.

A second Northeastern team, including Kyle Christensen '14, Emily Shaw '14, Dylan White '14 and Nathaniel Gates '14, also competed.

“I have been immensely impressed with the students’ initiative and proficiency at all stages of the competition – team formation, research, strategy, written and oral advocacy,” said Professor Susan Montgomery, faculy advisor to the Northeastern teams. “The best brief award is icing on the cake!”

An alphabetical list of competing schools included: 


American University Washington College of Law

Boston College Law School

Brooklyn Law School

Columbia University School of Law

Georgetown University School of Law

Hofstra Law School

Northeastern University School of Law

Seton Hall University School of Law

Suffolk University Law School

Syracuse University College of Law

The Catholic University of America Columbus School of Law

University of Baltimore School of Law

University of New Hampshire School of Law

Widener University School of Law