Founded in 1974, the Alumni/ae Association exists to increase the number of actively engaged School of Law alumni/ae, to provide opportunities for graduates to interact and maintain relations with each other and the general School of Law community and to promote the public image and well-being of the School of Law.

The Alumni/ae Association board of directors consists of approximately 30 graduates who serve three-year terms. From time to time, one or more current NUSL students are appointed to serve as student representatives to the board.


Alumni/ae Association Board Stipends Available 

The NUSL Alumni/ae Board continues its support of law school students in non-paid public interest co-ops by presenting the Alumni/ae Award. The Alumni/ae Award of $5,000 is granted to one law school student per quarter to help defer the costs of their unpaid public service co-op.

Student Deadlines

The deadline for the summer quarter is Thursday, May 2, at noon.

Eligibility Requirements

  • You must be an enrolled NUSL law student.
  • Your co-op must be unpaid.
  • Your co-op must be with a legal services office, a government agency, a public defender or a non-profit advocacy group; and the co-op must either (i) expand into a relatively new legal market (geographic and/or areas of practice); or (ii) explore new applications of law through in-depth research or the development of novel theories of law which address issues of social concern.

How to Apply

  • You must submit a statement before the deadline.  
  • Your statement must include your name, date, co-op employer, co-op location and answer the question(s), “What new legal markets or new applications of law will your co-op likely expand/explore? Is it a new co-op that you created? Explain." There is no specific suggested length for the application, but we ask that you please adequately answer the questions above.

Submit Statement via email to:
Mielle Marquis
Director for External Relations  
Law School/Advancement
Northeastern University School of Law
416 Huntington Avenue Boston, MA 02115

Recent Recipients of the Alumni/ae Association Board Stipend:

Winter 2018: Catherine Houser ′20, ACLU of Utah
Fall 2018: Danica Cotov ′20, Native Hawaiian Legal Corporation
Summer 2018: Maxwell Dismukes ′19, MLPB - Medical-Legal Partnership Boston
Spring 2018: Janae Hakala Choquette 19, New Orleans Workers' Center for Racial Justice (NOWCR)
Winter 2017: Stephanie Tabashneck 18, Center for Law, Brain and Behavior
Fall 2017: Keren Salim ′19, Southern Coalition for Social Justice

Board of Directors Meeting Schedule, 2018-2019

Thursday, July 12 (Annual Board Retreat)
Location: 32 Dockser Hall
Time: 8:45 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Tuesday, September 4, 2018
Location: Dean's Conference Room, 120 Knowles Building 
Tuesday, November 13, 2018 
Location: Dean's Conference Room, 120 Knowles Building 
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Location: Dean's Conference Room, 120 Knowles Building 
Tuesday, March 12, 2019  
Location: Dean's Conference Room, 120 Knowles Building  
Tuesday, June 4, 2019  
Location: Dean's Conference Room, 120 Knowles Building  
*All meetings begin at 5:45 p.m. unless otherwise noted