Joel R. Reidenberg Northeast Privacy Scholars Workshop
November 13, 2020, via Zoom

Abstracts/Submissions due September 13, 2020, by 5:00 PM Eastern

Papers/Precis due October 25, 2020

We are excited to announce this Call for Submissions for the Northeast Privacy Scholars Workshop, to be held on November 13, 2020, and to dedicate it to our friend and the former workshop co-chair, the late Joel R. Reidenberg.


This year, we honor our friend, mentor and colleague Joel R. Reidenberg, who passed away in April 2020. The workshop, now in its fourth year and generously sponsored by Microsoft, offers privacy scholars from diverse fields the opportunity to receive extensive, constructive commentary on their works in progress.


We invite submissions on a variety of privacy-related topics and from a wide range of disciplines, including, but not limited to, law, social science, computer science, engineering, communications and public policy.

Starting this year, we are designating workshop slots to students, including current JD, master’s, PhD and joint-degree students, so we can help welcome new scholars into our field. If you are a current student submitting a paper, please indicate that on the submission form.

 Format and Types of Projects/Papers

The workshop format is designed to facilitate discussion and commentary on early-stage papers and projects. As in previous years, substantial time (60 minutes) will be allotted for papers that are sufficiently developed to be read and critiqued, but not yet submitted for publication. Two to three “lightning” sessions of 20 minutes will be allocated to emerging projects at the precis stage. There will be no presentations at the workshop; only brief commentary and feedback from participants.

This year’s workshop will be conducted via Zoom. We recognize that this isn’t ideal; part of the strength of workshopping papers is meeting each other, talking over ideas during breaks and getting to know the members of our community. To make the experience as rich as possible, we will be having breakout rooms, ample breaks and lots of opportunity to e-network.

Zoom events work best in small groups, so we are considering workshopping more papers than in previous years, with up to two papers being workshopped at the same time in different Zooms. This will, of course, depend on submissions. The Program Committee will accept submissions on the same basis as in previous years.


All privacy scholars, from a variety of disciplines, are welcome to submit an abstract for consideration. We value quality, potential contribution to the literature, novelty, interdisciplinary approaches, and new and exciting perspectives. We also value diversity on multiple metrics, especially for members of groups traditionally underrepresented in the academy, including persons of color, women, members of the LGBTQ community and those living with disabilities. 

A preference will be given to those in the northeast region, but we have had scholars from all over the world workshop their papers. In addition, in keeping with our goals of constructive feedback, diversity and interdisciplinary scholarship, no one can be the designated author on a paper two years in a row. In other words, for single-author papers, the same author cannot have a paper workshopped in consecutive years. Multi-author papers are eligible for workshop in consecutive years, but the designated (first) author must be different to be workshopped two years in a row. For those selected for full, 60-minute workshops, a draft paper will be required by October 25, 2020. For those selected for “lightning” sessions, a three-page precis will be due the same day.

How to Submit:

Interested scholars can click here to (1) submit an abstract of between 500 and 700 words, specifying whether the submission is for a traditional paper session or a lightning session, (2) volunteer to serve as a commentator, or (3) request permission to attend as an active participant. Please note that attending as an active participant is only possible if space permits.

The Program Committee, which will select from among the submitted abstracts, includes, in alphabetical order:

  • Steve Bellovin, Columbia University, Department of Computer Science
  • Yafit Lev-Aretz, City University of New York, Zicklin School of Business
  • Helen Nissenbaum, Cornell Tech
  • Paul Ohm, Georgetown University, Georgetown Law Center
  • Katherine Strandburg, New York University, School of Law
  • Joseph Turow, University of Pennsylvania, Annenberg School of Communications
  • Ari Waldman, Northeastern University, School of Law and Khoury College of Computer Science (Chair)

Abstracts will be due via electronic submission by September 13, 2020, by 5 PM (Eastern).

We look forward to your submission and expect another stimulating conversation. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact Toni Morgan, managing director of CLIC, at

>> Download the flyer

Sponsored by:

CLIC           Microsoft