On Northeastern-managed Windows machines, hundreds of available applications are not directly installed to minimize the number of unused applications on your hard drive.
When you launch an application from Start –> All Programs, if it runs through the Application Virtualization Client, you will see in the lower right corner of your screen a small pop-up saying that the application is loading.
This is an indication that the application should be run on the Northeastern networks (NUNet, NUwave or through the VPN) whenever possible.
After initial launch of applications that runs through the Application Virtualization Client:
- Every time you close these applications, you will see a pop-up saying that the application has shut down.
- Every time you re-open these applications while on the network, you will see a pop-up about checking for updates before the application itself opens.
NOTE: None of these pop-ups appear for applications that are installed directly on your machine and that can be run offiline.