Senate Meeting Minutes – October 7, 2020

Graduate Student Government Senate Meeting

October 07, 2020
2:00 pm – 4:00 pm
Zoom Recording: http://bit.ly/GSGSM1007

AGENDA

  1. Project Group Funding Approval
  1. Student Organization Recognition
  • Lean Endeavors at Northeastern
  • Husky Systers Code
  1. Vice President of Academic Affairs Election

 

ITEMS DISCUSSED

1. Project Group Funding Approval

President Gagan Prabhu gave the presentation on Project Group Funding

  • Project funding is the funding pool available for Graduate Non-PhD students seeking funding for projects or research
  • It is currently available only for Non-PhD students, but PhD students are encouraged to apply through PhD network
  • Funding will be $500 per student/organization per academic year with total pool of $5000 on FCFS basis. He mentioned the numbers on how different universities across the country grant funds for projects
  • Project Funding Guidelines document which included eligibility, application procedure, important requirements, funding deadlines per semester and approval process for Project Funding was presented

Voting by the Senate

Result: Approved (97% senators voted yes)

Team members: Gagan Prabhu, Bhavesh Thakkar, Hariessh Kumar, Nagesh Kadagathur, Ziqian Xu, Ansh Vaghela

2. Student Organization Recognition

Vice President of Student Affairs, Deependra Singh introduced Jeel Majithia of the student group Lean Endeavors at Northeastern (LEAN), Manogna Mantripragada and Sayali Pathare of Husky Systers Code

a. Lean Endeavors at Northeastern

  • Presentation by President Jeel Majithia on mission, student involvement strategy and proposed events of the organization
  • Voting by the Senate
  • Result: Approved (86% senators voted yes)

b. Husky Systers Code

  • Presentation by Manogna Mantripragada and Sayali Pathare of Husky Systers Code on mission, student involvement strategy and proposed events of the organization
  • Voting by the Senate
  • Result: Approved (64% senators voted yes)

4. Vice President of Academic Affairs Election

The 5 nominees for VP for Academic Affairs were: Palash Chandrakar, Akanksha Gupta, Asad Muhammad Rafique, Omkar      Tiware and Reema Yadav.

Each candidate was given two minutes to pitch and participated in a question/answer session. This was followed by the ballot, conducted by CSI where active senators got to vote. President Gagan Dep Prabhu announced the vote for the election of Reema Yadav as the new Vice President of Academic Affairs.

Divya Subbaian shared the committee information: Academic Affairs, Financial Affairs, Programs and Operations, Marketing and Outreach and Student Affairs and encouraged senators to join committees. Office hours schedule for the week Oct 5th – Oct 9th was displayed and instructions for on-ground office hours were reiterated.

 

ADJOURNMENT

The senate meeting was adjourned at 4:16pm by the Executive Vice-President Divya Subbaian. 

 

Meeting Attendance

S.NoName Northeastern EmailCollegeCommittee
1Akanksha Guptagupta.aka@northeastern.eduKhoury Academic Affairs Committee
2Ankita Mahapatramahapatra.an@northeastern.eduKhoury Student Affairs Committee
3Ansh VaghelaVaghela.a@northeastern.eduCPSFinancial Affairs Committee
4Arushii KalsiKalsi.a@husky.neu.eduCOENone, I don't want to sign up for Committees!
5Ashish Bidapbidap.a@northeastern.eduCPSMarketing and Outreach Committee
6Chirag Patelpatel.chir@northeastern.eduCOEFinancial Affairs Committee
7Danzel Jonesjones.danz@northeastern.eduGraduate Student Organization - GSCCNone, I don't want to sign up for committees!
8Deependra Singhd.singh@northeastern.eduCOE-
9Divya Subbaiand.subbaian@northeastern.eduCOE-
10Gagan Dep Prabhug.prabhu@northeastern.eduCOE-
11Hariessh Kumar Badrinarayananbadrinarayanan.h@northeastern.eduKhoury Academic Affairs Committee
12Huiyu Huanghuang.huiy@northeastern.eduCOENone, I don't want to sign up for Committees!
13James "Jerry" Goodwingoodwin.j@northeastern.eduCPSMarketing and Outreach Committee
14Kamalesh Korekore.k@northeastern.eduCOEFinancial Affairs Committee
15Nagesh Ramesh Kadagathurnageshrameshkadaga.n@northeastern.eduCOENone, I don't want to sign up for Committees!
16Niranjan Vaidyavaidya.nir@northeastern.eduCPSNone, I don't want to sign up for Committees!
17Omkar Tiwaretiware.o@northeastern.eduCPSFinancial Affairs Committee
18Orhun Kokkok.o@northeastern.eduCOSFinancial Affairs Committee
19Palash ChandrakarChandrakar.p@northeastern.eduCOEFinancial Affairs Committee
20Pallak Singhsingh.pal@northeastern.eduGraduate Student Organization-GWiSE None, I don't want to sign up for Committees!
21Prajakta Deshpandedeshpande.pr@northeastern.eduCOE-
22Reemayadav.ree@northeastern.eduCOE-
23Rishab Shekar Gunashekargunashekar.r@northeastern.eduCOEPrograms and Operations Committee
24Romaric Belmier Mbakopmbakop.r@northeastern.eduCOEStudent Affairs Committee
25Samuel Chuanchuan.s@northeastern.eduCollege of Arts, Media and DesignMarketing and Outreach Committee
26Santhoshi Bathinabathina.s@northeastern.eduCOE-
27Shamika Shirish Gogategogate.s@northeastern.eduCOEPrograms and Operations Committee
28Simone Winston Winston.si@northeastern.eduCPSFinancial Affairs Committee
29Tanay Bhagwatbhagwat.t@northeastern.eduCOSStudent Affairs Committee
30Taylor Lemieux Lemieux.t@northeastern.eduD'Amore-McKim BusinessPrograms and Operations Committee
31Vatsal Guptagupta.vat@northeastern.eduCOEPrograms and Operations Committee