Senate Meeting Minutes – March 24, 2021

Graduate Student Government Senate Meeting – March 24, 2021

March 24, 2021
12:00 pm – 2:00 pm
Zoom Recording: http://bit.ly/sm3-24

AGENDA

  1. Introduction
  2. Guest Speaker – Naomi Boase – Assistant Director, CIE
  3. Guest Speaker – Elizaveta Butsenevskaya – NU Alumni, Product Designer, PTC inc.
  4. Event Polls and Feedback
  5. NU CAP Outreach – Environmental Justice Climate Equity – Yasmina Estepe & Aubrey Thomas
  6. Questions and Answers

 

ITEMS DISCUSSED

1. Introduction

Executive Vice President Divya Subbaian opened the meeting by introducing the speakers and going through the agenda for the session.

2. Center for Intercultural Engagement (CIE)

Naomi Boase, Assistant Director of Center for intercultural engagement gave a background about herself and what the center does and what it offers to the Graduate Student body. CIE focuses on diminishing intercultural differences and nurture a community of inclusion. It is located at 144 Curry center and the Social Justice Research Center SJRC is also another physical space where students can reserve affinity spaces to engage and experience the cultural life at Northeastern.

The collective objective of these organizations along with several other student affinity clubs associated with them is to foster inclusion and promote opportunities for intersectional identity development.

Some of the programs are i) Re-envisioning our world: Me and White Supremacy ii) A time of impeachment & insurrection iii) Libre Collective Spring 2021 iv) Empower   v) Global Leadership Program vi) Our Voices vii) The FUNL Network

These are series of workshops, events and training programs that revolve around different themes of intercultural differences for each of the ethnic identity groups that are a part of Northeastern.

3. Resume Writing – Elizaveta Butsenevskaya (NU Alumni, Product Designer)

Elizaveta, an international student with experience gives a brief background about herself and about her passion project which is to help international students understand the whole job search process and challenges that they face.

She talks about how to pass the ATS scan and get your Resume to be read by a recruiter. The key takeaways are:

i) 75% job applications are rejected before they are read by a human due to the usage of applications tracking systems by companies to streamline the hiring process.

ii) Tweaking the job role based on the job description gets extra points by the ATS system.

iii) The technical terminology for the hard skills should be an exact match with those required in the job description.

Iv) ATS would be unable to scan through fancy resumes with creative edits and hence would not pass the resume to the recruiter.

v) Creative resumes can be used when the resume is directly being sent to the recruiter or being printed out at the time of the job interview.

vi) ATS works better with the Word format as compared to PDF. 

4. Upcoming Events and Feedback/Polls:

Divya Subbaian abd Gagan Prabhu gives an update about the upcoming Events for the following weeks which are the i) GSG Merchandise Giveaway ii) Virtual Escape Room iii) Movie Night. Zoom Polls and feedback sessions were conducted to see which date students would prefer for the virtual escape room and movie night. She talks about the various committees that are a part of the Graduate student government while also answering questions about the roles and duties of these committees.

5. Environmental Justice Climate Equity

Yasmina Estepe and Aubrey Thomas talk about the NU CAP which is a student led organization which focuses on creating the climate action plan for a sustainable environment with a focus on inclusion, diversity and equity. They brainstormed ideas along with students on possible ways to have a greater outreach and student engagement. They also went over some of the projects that they are currently taking up and along with their efforts for a more sustainable future. Some of the great ideas included holding a competition between different departments and organizations with the goal to achieve sustainability in any of their day-to-day operations. Another great recommendation was to utilize social media influencers of various departments to act as mediators to connect and work together for a better outreach.

 6. Question and Answer

The next Senate meeting is scheduled for April 10th, 2021, 12:00p.m.-1:00p.m. (EST) in #333 Curry Student Center and through Zoom.

All Attendees would be receiving gift cards from grub hub.

ADJOURNMENT

The Senate meeting was adjourned at 2:00p.m. by President Gagan Dep Prabhu.

 

Meeting Attendance

S.NoName Northeastern EmailProgramCollegeCommittee
1Aakar tripathi.aa@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEMarketing and Outreach Committee
2Aananthan Mariappanmariappan.a@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEMarketing and Outreach Committee
3Abhinaya Rangarajanrangarajan.a@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEMarketing and Outreach Committee
4Abhishek Shahshah.abhish@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEInvolved in Strategic Planning Committee
5Aditi Jainjain.adit@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEStudent Affairs Committee
6Ajay Kartik krishnakumarkrishnakumar.aj@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEStudent Affairs Committee
7Akankshatetwar.a@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEStudent Affairs Committee
8Akash bansalBansal.ak@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOENone, I don't want to sign up for committees!
9Akash Rakesh Sinhasinha.aka@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEFinancial Affairs Committee
10Akhil RajeevRajeev.a@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEPrograms & Operations Committee
11Ankita Mahapatramahapatra.an@northeastern.eduMaster'sKhouryStudent Affairs Committee
12Anuradha Bansilal Choudharychoudhary.an@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOENone, I don't want to sign up for Committees!
13Ariel E. Estevez Perezestevezperez.a@northeastern.eduMaster'sCSSHStudent Affairs Committee
14Arushii KalsiKalsi.a@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOENone, I don't want to sign up for Committees!
15Asad Muhammad Rafique Rafique.a@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOENone, I don't want to sign up for Committees!
16Asif Khankhan.asif@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOENone, I don't want to sign up for Committees!
17Atharva Kousadikar Kousadikar.a@northeastern.eduMaster'sCPSInvolved in Strategic Planning Committee
18Balpreet Gurmgurm.b@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEStudent Affairs Committee
19Chirag Patelpatel.chir@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEFinancial Affairs Committee
20Danzel Jonesjones.danz@northeastern.eduMaster'sGSCCNone, I don't want to sign up for Committees!
21Deep Kotharikothari.dee@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEFinancial Affairs Committee
22Deependra Singhsingh.de@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOE-
23Dhruv Garggarg.d@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEMarketing and Outreach Committee
24Divya Subbaiansubbaian.d@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOE-
25Fenil Desaidesai.f@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEPrograms & Operations Committee
26Gagan Dep Prabhuprabhu.g@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOE-
27Gautham Rajsimha Pulipatipulipati.g@notheastern.eduMaster'sCOEAcademic Affairs Committee
28Gayatri Degaonkar degaonkar.g@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEInvolved in Strategic Planning Committee
29Govind SinghSingh.gov@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEPrograms & Operations Committee
30Hardik Radadiyaradadiya.h@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOE-
31Harman Farwahfarwah.h@northeastern.eduMaster'sKhouryMarketing and Outreach Committee
32Harshal U Kumbharkumbhar.h@northeastern.eduMaster'sCPSMarketing and Outreach Committee
33Ishamlnu.is@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEStudent Affairs Committee
34Jared Beaulieubeaulieu.ja@northeastern.eduMaster'sBusiness SchoolFinancial Affairs Committee
35Jay Walendrawlendra.j@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEFinancial Affairs Committee
36Jigesh Mauryamaurya.j@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEStudent Affairs Committee
37Kulbir Singhsingh.kul@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEPrograms & Operations Committee
38Lily Bessettebessette.l@northeastern.eduMaster'sKhouryNone, I don't want to sign up for Committees!
39Markynsai Lamarlamar.m@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEPrograms & Operations Committee
40Mayank Mehtamehta.mayan@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEPrograms & Operations Committee
41Mekalaa Babubabu.m@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEStudent Affairs Committee
42Mohit Shimpishimpi.m@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEInvolved in Strategic Planning Committee
43Nijin Varghesevarghese.n@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEStudent Affairs Committee
44Nikunj Doshidoshi.nik@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEMarketing and Outreach Committee
45Omkar AmbekarAmbekar.o@northeastern.eduMaster'sCPSFinancial Affairs Committee
46Omkar Tiwaretiware.o@northeastern.eduMaster'sCPSFinancial Affairs Committee
47Parth Urvishkumar Khamar khamar.p@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEMarketing and Outreach Committee
48Pradeepkumar Rajanrajan.p@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEInvolved in Strategic Planning Committee
49Reema YadavYadav.ree@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOE-
50Rhea SharmaSharma.rhe@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOSStudent Affairs Committee
51Rochana Devidas Dudwadkardudwadkar.r@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEPrograms & Operations Committee
52Rohit Ashok Kapadikapadi.r@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEStudent Affairs Committee
53Romaric Belmier Mbakopmbakop.r@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEStudent Affairs Committee
54Rushabh Patelpatel.rushab@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEMarketing and Outreach Committee
55Sahil Merchantmerchant.sa@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOENone, I don't want to sign up for committees!
56Samuel ChuanChuan.s@northeastern.eduMaster'sCAMDMarketing and Outreach Committee
57Samyak JainJain.samyak@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEFinancial Affairs Committee
58Sandeep Karapa Srivatsav karapasrivatsav.s@northeastern.eduMaster'sCPSMarketing and Outreach Committee
59Sanika Sanil Saraffsaraff.s@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEPrograms & Operations Committee
60Sankesh Sankapani sankapani.s@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEStudent Affairs Committee
61Santhoshi Bathinabathina.s@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOE-
62Sanyukta Kolikoli.s@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEStudent Affairs Committee
63Sasank Kantanakantana.s@northeastern.eduMaster'sCPSMarketing and Outreach Committee
64Saurabh Pathakpathak.sa@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEAcademic Affairs Committee
65Shakir Khalid khalid.s@northeastern.eduMaster'sCPS-
66Shravya Shettyshetty.shra@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEFinancial Affairs Committee
67Shreyas Khatavkhatav.s@northeastern.eduMaster'sCPSMarketing and Outreach Committee
68Shruthi Sivaprakasamsivaprakasam.s@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEStudent Affairs Committee
69Sneha Ravichandranravichandran.sn@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEMarketing and Outreach Committee
70Sriram Ravindranravindran.s@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEStudent Affairs Committee
71Sudheer reddy GaddamGaddam.su@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOENone, I don't want to sign up for Committees!
72Sunit Bailbail.s@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEStudent Affairs Committee
73Sweta Mankalamankala.s@northeastern.eduMaster'sCPSNone, I don't want to sign up for Committees!
74Syed Mohammad Asjadasjad.s@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEInvolved in Strategic Planning Committee
75TANAY BHAGWATbhagwat.t@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOSStudent Affairs Committee
76Tejal Bhaleraobhalerao.t@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEMarketing and Outreach Committee
77Ujjwal Singlasingla.u@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEMarketing and Outreach Committee
78Uma Mahesh Avalapatiavalapati.u@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEStudent Affairs Committee
79Varshitha Uppulauppula.v@northeastern.eduMaster'sKhouryAcademic Affairs Committee
80VARUN KUMAR GURUSAMY CHELLAMUTHUgurusamychellamuth.v@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEMarketing and Outreach Committee
81Vasundhara Bhujbalbhujbal.v@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOENone, I don't want to sign up for committees!
82Vijay Harisudan Sivasekarsivasekar.v@northeastern.eduMaster'sKhouryNone, I don't want to sign up for Committees!
83VIKRANT VIVEK VAZEvaze.v@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOENone, I don't want to sign up for committees!
84Vishal Basant Guptagupta.vis@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEStudent Affairs Committee
85Vishwajit Dnyanoba Chaurechaure.v@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOENone, I don't want to sign up for Committees!
86Vishwajith Subhashsubhash.v@northeastern.eduMaster'sCOEFinancial Affairs Committee