Senate Meeting Minutes – February 10, 2021

Graduate Student Government Senate Meeting – February 10, 2021

February 10, 2021
12:00 pm – 2:00 pm
Zoom Recording: http://bit.ly/gsg2-10

 

AGENDA

1. Introduction

  • Vice President of Financial Affairs
  • Vice President of Programs & Operations

2. Guest Speaker from Graduate Ombuds – Dr. Kimberly Wong

3. Student Group Approval 1

4. Student Group Approval 2

5. President

6. Questions

 

ITEMS DISCUSSED

1. Introduction

Executive Vice President Divya Subbaian opened the meeting and welcomed everyone. 

  • Vice President of Financial Affairs – Hardik Radadiya

Hardik is pursuing a his master’s degree in Engineering Management. Hardik shared that he will be developing budget proposal for the next year. He invited members who have a background in finance or Tableau Budget Dashboard to join the Financial Affairs committee.

Email: GSGfinance@northeastern.edu.

  • Vice President of Programs and Operations – Shakir Khalid

Shakir is an architect and is seeking a master’s degree in Project Management. He invited interested GSG members to contact him to serve on the committee.

Email: GSGPrograms@northeastern.edu

2. Guest Speaker from Graduate Ombuds – Dr. Kimberly Wong

Dr. Kimberly Wong is the Graduate Ombudsperson at the university. She is a counseling psychologist with more than a decade of experience working with culturally diverse students in higher education. Her office offers support to the graduate student body, provides training/workshops, cross-cultural issues, and feedback to the college community. She sees students for a variety of reasons, including students having problems with professors, conflict resolution among students, coaching, and other matters. Her meetings are confidential. She can make referrals to the appropriate office for other services at the university.

https://web.northeastern.edu/graduateombuds/

3. Student Group Approval 1

Vice President of Student Affairs Deependra Singh introduced The American Academy of Orthopaedic Manual Physical Therapists (AAOMPT) for student group approval. The organization will “foster learning and research in orthopedic manual physical therapy.” The representatives for the organization are President Taylor Surrette and Vice President Tyler Axelson. The faculty adviser is Dr. Marie Corkery, clinical professor in the Department of Physical Therapy, Movement and Rehabilitation Sciences. The group has held programs with guest speakers and has plans for future events and activities. A question and answer session was held.

Voting by the Senate

Result: Approved

4. Student Group Approval 2

The Khoury Graduate Student Association was represented by Andrew Walter. The goal of the organization is to support and maintain a community among Khoury graduate students and will help Khory administration plan, organize, and execute activities for Ph.D. students. The faculty adviser is Dr. Frank Tip, Ph.D. program director at Khoury College, and associate dean for Graduate Programs. The organization has sponsored meetings and town halls with administrators and students, programs and activities.

Voting by the Senate

Result: Approved

5. President

President Gagan Dep Prabhu introduced himself to the GSG members. He is graduating at the end of the semester. He shared information about the accomplishments of the organization, including student group funding, research projects grant support, and advisement for graduate students among other achievements. He spoke about certification funding that GSG is planning to implement and invited senators who are interested to collaborate with him in the implementation process.

Email: GSGPresident@northeastern.edu

The next Senate meeting is scheduled for Feb. 24, 2021, 12:00pm – 2:00pm (EST) in #333 Curry Student Center, Zoom.

6. Questions

A couple of senators spoke about not having an indoor space to wait for the RedEye during late hours after the library closes and how difficult it gets during the winter. Gagan said that he will take the concern forward to the higher authorities.

 

ADJOURNMENT

The Senate meeting was adjourned at 1:47 p.m. by President Gagan Dep Prabhu.

 

Meeting Attendance

S.NoName Northeastern EmailCollegeCommittee
1Abdulla Killedarkilledar.a@northeastern.eduCOEPrograms & Operations Committee
2Aditi jainjain.adit@northeastern.eduCOEStudent Affairs Committee
3Ajay Kartik Krishnakumarkrishnakumar.aj@northeastern.eduCOEPrograms & Operations Committee
4Akanksha Diggikardiggikar.a@northeastern.eduCOEFinancial Affairs Committee
5Amulya Raoravindra.a@northeastern.eduCOEStudent Affairs Committee
6Andrew Walterwalter.a@northeastern.eduKhouryNone, I don't want to sign up for Committees!
7Ankita MahapatraMahapatra.an@northeastern.eduKhouryStudent Affairs Committee
8Aron Dsouzadsouza.a@northeastern.eduCOEMarketing and Outreach Committee
9Arushii KalsiKalsi.a@northeastern.eduCOENone, I don't want to sign up for Committees!
10Asad Rafiquerafique.a@northeastern.eduCOEPrograms & Operations Committee
11Chinmayi Shaligram shaligram.c@northeastern.eduCOEFinancial Affairs Committee
12Chirag Patelpatel.chir@northeastern.eduCOEFinancial Affairs Committee
13Danzel Jonesjones.danz@northeastern.eduGraduate Student Organization (Please specify below)Student Affairs Committee
14Deependra Singhsingh.de@northeastern.eduCOE-
15Deepti Akarshaakarsha.d@northeastern.eduCOEStudent Affairs Committee
16Divya Subbaiansubbaian.d@northeastern.eduCOE-
17Fenil Desaidesai.f@northeastern.eduCOEPrograms & Operations Committee
18Gagan Dep Prabhuprabhu.g@northeastern.eduCOE-
19Gayatri Nitin Degaonkar degaonkar.g@northeastern.eduCOEStrategic Planning Committee
20Govind SinghSingh.gov@northeastern.eduCOEPrograms & Operations Committee
21Grania Machadomachado.g@northeastern.eduKhouryMarketing and Outreach Committee
22Hardik Radadiyaradadiya.h@northeastern.eduCOE-
23Harman Farwahfarwah.h@northeastern.eduKhouryMarketing and Outreach Committee
24Jay Walendrawalendra.j@northeastern.eduCOEPrograms & Operations Committee
25Jay Walendrajaywalendra@gmail.comCOEFinancial Affairs Committee
26Jigesh Mauryamaurya.j@northeastern.eduCOEStudent Affairs Committee
27Junayed IslamIslam.j@northeastern.eduCPSFinancial Affairs Committee
28Kamaleshkore.k@northeastern.eduCOEFinancial Affairs Committee
29Kunal Upadhyayupadhyay.ku@northeastern.eduCOENone, I don't want to sign up for committees!
30Lily Bessettebessette.l@northeastern.eduGraduate Student Organization (Please specify below)None, I don't want to sign up for Committees!
31Markynsai Lamarlamar.m@northeastern.eduCOEMarketing and Outreach Committee
32Mrugendra Manerikarmanerikar.m@northeastern.eduCOENone, I don't want to sign up for Committees!
33Nikita Ashok PatilPatil.nik@northeastern.eduCOEPrograms & Operations Committee
34Nikunj Doshidoshi.nik@northeastern.eduCOEMarketing and Outreach Committee
35Niranjan Vaidyavaidya.nir@northeastern.eduCPSNone, I don't want to sign up for Committees!
36Omkar Tiwaretiware.o@northeastern.eduCPSFinancial Affairs Committee
37Parth Trivedi trivedi.pa@northeastern.eduCOEMarketing and Outreach Committee
38Prem Mulchandanimulchandani.p@northeastern.eduCOEPrograms & Operations Committee
39Priyankachaudhari.pri@northeastern.eduCOEStrategic Planning Committee
40Rajan salvesalve.ra@northeastern.eduCOEPrograms & Operations Committee
41Reema YadavYadav.ree@northeastern.eduCollege of Engineering-
42Rhea Sharmasharma.rhe@northeastern.eduCollege of ScienceStudent Affairs Committee
43Riya Moitramoitra.r@northeastern.eduCOEFinancial Affairs Committee
44Rochana Devidas Dudwadkardudwadkar.r@northeastern.eduCOEPrograms & Operations Committee
45Romaric Belmier Mbakopmbakop.r@northeastern.eduCOEStudent Affairs Committee
46Samuel Chuanchuan.s@northeastern.eduCAMDMarketing and Outreach Committee
47Samyak Jainjain.samyak@northeastern.eduCOEStrategic Planning Committee
48Sandeep Karapa Srivatsavkarapasrivatsav.s@northeastern.eduCPSMarketing and Outreach Committee
49Sanika Sanil Saraffsaraff.s@northeastern.eduCOEPrograms & Operations Committee
50Santhosh Kumar Vijayakumarvijayakumar.san@northeastern.eduCOEMarketing and Outreach Committee
51Santhoshi Bathinabathina.s@northeastern.eduCOE-
52Sasank Kumar Kantanakantana.s@northeastern.eduCPSFinancial Affairs Committee
53Saurabh Pathakpathak.sa@northeastern.eduCOEAcademic Affairs Committee
54Shakir Khalid khalid.s@northeastern.eduCPS-
55Shamika Shirish Gogategogate.s@northeastern.eduCOEPrograms & Operations Committee
56Shreya Vivem Bhosalebhosale.sh@northeastern.eduCOEStudent Affairs Committee
57Sisir pasumartipasumarti.s@northeastern.eduCOEStrategic Planning Committee
58Sriram Ravindranravindran.s@northeastern.eduCOEStudent Affairs Committee
59Sudheer reddy gaddamGaddam.su@northeastern.eduCOENone, I don't want to sign up for Committees!
60Sunit Bailbail.s@northeastern.eduCOEStudent Affairs Committee
61Ujjwal Singlasingla.u@northeastern.eduCOEMarketing and Outreach Committee
62Vaishnavi Gadvegadve.v@northeastern.eduCOEStudent Affairs Committee
63Vishwajith Subhashsubhash.v@northeastern.eduCOEFinancial Affairs Committee
64Vivekkumar Sunilkumar Singhsingh.vivek@northeastern.eduCOENone, I don't want to sign up for committees!
65Yogesh Sanjay Jadhavjadhav.y@northeastern.eduCPSPrograms & Operations Committee