Senate Meeting Minutes – September 11, 2019

Graduate Student Government Senate Meeting
September 11, 2019
2:00 pm – 3:00 pm
333 Curry Student Center 

 

AGENDA

  1. Introduction to the Graduate Student Government by the Executive Board 
  2. Multiculturalism and Inclusion Committee official recognition
  3. Presentation by the Graduate Ombuds Office
  4. Anelie Pierre (Associate Director, Center of Student Involvement and GSG Advisor)
  5. President – Gagan Dep Prabhu
  6. Lunch

 

ITEMS DISCUSSED

     1. Introduction to the Graduate Student Government by the Executive Board officers

     a. Deependra Singh (Vice President of Student Affairs) welcomed all senators to the GSG senate meeting

 

     b. Vice President of Financial Affairs – Robert Hass 

  • Robert Hass discussed the responsibilities of his position and his work over the summer (supervise funding for graduate student groups and streamline guidelines for group funding)
  • Finance Committee – identify funding priorities to improve student life, review funding applications and make ethical decisions

 

      c. Vice President of Academic Affairs – Harshita Gupta 

  • Harshita Gupta discussed the responsibilities of her position and her work over the summer (LMSEC- Learning Management Environment Steering Committee, trace evaluation, alternative for blackboard), future goals, RISE awards
  • Academic Affairs Committee – operate toward improving academics at Northeastern University

 

      d. Vice President of Programs and Operations – Karan Parikh 

  • Karan Parikh discussed the responsibilities of his position and his work over the summer (senate meeting schedule, welcome brunch, GSG logo)
  • Programs and Operations Volunteering Committee – volunteer in events organized by the GSG and assist with event organization 

 

      e. Vice President of Marketing and Outreach – Divya Subbaian 

  • Divya Subbaian discussed the responsibilities of her position and her work over the summer (website, social media, brochure design, represent GSG at events/orientations, expansion of GSG to regional campuses)
  • Marketing and Outreach Committee – participate in events, represent the GSG, design, identify creative marketing strategies)
  • Budget Priorities Committee – Chaired by Babatunde Aideyan (Executive Vice President), work on a survey distributed to graduate students to receive feedback and determine funding allocation

 

       f. Vice President of Student Affairs – Deependra Singh  

  • Deependra Singh discussed the responsibilities of his position and his work over the summer (review student group approval requests, address student grievances)
  • Student Affairs Committee – Build survey to receive feedback, respond to student issues, interact with university administration to enhance student experience

 

     2. Multiculturalism and Inclusion Committee official recognition

  • Noora Abdulkerim presented mission, goals, events and recruitment strategy of the committee
  • 8 active senators were given voting privileges and the committee was approved to receive official recognition (all 8 active senators voted yes)

 

     3. Presentation by the Graduate Ombuds Office – Dr. Kimberly Wong

  • Kimberly Wong discussed services provided by the Northeastern Ombuds office (help faculty, staff and students through workplace problems)

 

     4. Anelie Pierre (Associate Director, Center of Student Involvement and GSG Advisor)

  • Anelie Pierre discussed her responsibilities, goals and expectations for the academic year 2019 -2020

 

     5. President – Gagan Dep Prabhu

  • Gagan Dep Prabhu discussed the responsibilities of his position and his work over the summer (represent GSG, build relationships with student groups and university administration, CPS referendum, oversee other officers’ projects) and his future goals
  • CPS Referendum Committee – assist the President in running a referendum to include the College of Professional Studies as an officially recognized college by the GSG, work with Student Affairs, identify promotional strategies

 

     6. Lunch

 

ADJOURNMENT

The senate meeting was adjourned at 3:00 pm by the President.

 

 

Meeting Attendance

S.No.NameEmailCollege
1
Abhishek
maheshwarappa.a@husky.neu.eduCOE
2Abhishek S
suresh.ab@husky.neu.edu
COE
3
Adish Joshi
joshi.adis@husky.neu.edu
COE
4
Akash Sinha
sinha.aka@husky.neu.edu
COE
5
Anchal Mishra
mishra.an@husky.neu.edu
COE
6
Ankita Mahapatra
mahapatra.an@husky.nue.edu
Khoury
7
Anuradha Bansilal Choudhary choudhary.an@husky.neu.edu
COE
8Anurag Shubham
shubham.a@husky.neu.eduKhoury
9Apoorva Mishra
mishra.ap@husky.neu.eduCOE
10Aryan Patidar
patidar.ar@husky.neu.eduCOE
11bhavesh thakkar thakkar.b@husky.neu.eduCOE
12Deependra Singhd.singh@northeastern.eduCOE
13Dilan jacob
jacob.d@husky.neu.eduCOE
14Divya Subbaiand.subbaian@northeastern.eduCOE
15Gagan Dep Prabhug.prabhu@northeastern.eduCOE
16Hariessh Kumar Badrinarayanan
badrinarayananan.h@husky.neu.eduKhoury
17Harshita Guptah.gupta@northeastern.eduCOE
18Harshita ved
ved.h@husky.neu.eduKhoury
19Jugal sheth
sheth.ju@husky.neu.eduCOE
20kapil patilpatil.ka@husky.neu.edu
COE
21Karan Parikhk.parikh@northeastern.eduCOE
22Kunal Baykeri
baykeri.k@husky.neu.eduCOE
23Kunj Mithapara

mithapara.k@husky.neu.eduCOE
24Kush Sanjay Adhvaryu adhvaryu.k@husky.neu.eduCOE
25Malou De Kergret thiebaut.m@husky.neu.edu
D'Amore-Mckim
26Miral Dalal dalal.m@husky.neu.edu
COE
27Mohit Masalkar
masalkar.m@husky.neu.eduCOE
28Mounika Nalla
nalla.m@husky.neu.eduCOE
29Mrugendra Manerikar
manerikar.m@husky.neu.eduCOE
30NIKHIL DINGRA dingra.n@husky.neu.edu
COE
31Palak Rajkumar Mundra
mundra.p@husky.neu.eduCOE
32Parth Gadhavi
gadhavi.p@husky.neu.eduCOE
33Praudeep Namakkal Balasubramani
namakkalbalasubraman.p@husky.neu.eduCOE
34Priyal Sanjay Maheshwari
maheshwari.pri@husky.neu.eduKhoury
35Priyanka Tadse tadse.p@husky.neu.edu
COE
36Richa Singh
singh.ric@husky.neu.eduCOE
37Ritesh Pendurkar
pendurkar.r@husky.neu.eduCOE
38Ritvik
vinodkumar.r@husky.neu.eduKhoury
39Robert Hassr.hass@northeastern.eduD'Amore-McKim Business
40Sachith Kothari
kothari.sac@husky.neu.eduCOE
41Sai Praveen Nalluri nalluri.s@husky.neu.edu
COE
42Sanket Pimple pimple.s@husky.neu.edu
COE
43Shamika Gogate
gogate.s@husky.neu.eduCOE
44Shashwata Pritam Naik
naik.sh@husky.neu.eduCOE
45Snehapriya Vallabhajosyula vallabhajosyula.s@husky.neu.edu
COS
46Sohan Pise
pise.s@husky.neu.eduCOE
47Srikar Vuppalanchi vuppalanchi.s@husky.neu.edu
COE
48SUMEDHA HUNAGUND
hunagund.s@husky.neu.eduCOE
49Suryanarayana Malladi
malladi.s@husky.neu.eduCOE
50Tanay Bhagwat
bhagwat.t@husky.neu.eduCOS
51Tanvi Gurav
gurav.t@husky.neu.eduCOE
52Vijay Harisudan Sivasekar sivasekar.v@husky.neu.edu
Khoury