Our Graduate Students

M.A. in World History Students

M.A. in Public History Students

Ph.D.

Feruza Aripova

aripova.a@husky.neu.edu

Cohort: 2012

Research Interest: Soviet and modern Russian history; Gender in the post-Soviet space

Matthew Bowser

bowser.m@husky.neu.edu

Cohort: 2015

Research Interest: The British Empire; Myanmar; Global Islam in South/Southeast Asia; Global Great Depression; Race, Space, & The Origins of Social Stratification

Allison Chapin

chapin.a@husky.neu.edu

Cohort: 2016

Research Interest: Holocaust, Genocide; Human Rights; Public History

David DeCamp

decamp.d@husky.neu.edu

Cohort: 2012

Research Interest: Modern British Empire; Modern London; Urban History; Transit History; Historical Geography, Digital Humanities

Mark Episkopos

episkopos.m@husky.neu.edu

Cohort: 2017

Research Interest: Imperial and Soviet Russian History; Cold War; Russification programs of the late Russian Empire; Russian military history

Jack Gronau

gronau.j@husky.neu.edu

Cohort: 2014

Research Interest: Feminism and the French Empire; Gender, Sexuality, and Modern Europe

Shaunna Harrington

harrington.sh@neu.edu

Cohort: 2010

Research Interest: United States in the World; Transnational construction of race; Schools as sites of cultural production about race, identity, and nationalism

Sana Tannoury Karam

tannoury.s@husky.neu.edu

Cohort: 2011

Research Interest: Modern Middle Eastern History, Arab Intellectual History, History of the Arab Left

Regina Kazyulina

kazyulina.r@husky.neu.edu

Cohort: 2011

Research Interest: History of the Soviet Union and Modern Russia; Eastern European Jewish History; World History

Bridget Keown

keown.b@husky.neu.edu

Cohort: 2013

Research Interest: Gender; First World War; British Empire and Irish History

Thanasis Kinias

kinias.t@husky.neu.edu

Cohort: 2015

Research Interest: The British Empire; the long 19th century; Race and space; Transport and communication technology; Comparative imperialism; Book history

Hüseyin Kurt

kurt.h@husky.neu.edu

Cohort: 2017

Research Interest: Constitutionalism in the Middle East; Networks of knowledge and reform in the Muslim world; Global intellectual history; Ottoman and modern Middle Eastern history; Connected history; Islamic history and Islamic political thought; history from below

Debra Lavelle

lavelle.de@husky.neu.edu

Cohort: 2017

Research Interest:

Elizabeth R. Lehr

lehr.e@husky.neu.edu

Cohort: 2010

Research Interest: France in the World; Africa; Gender and Empire

Molly Nebiolo

nebiolo.m@husky.neu.edu

Cohort: 2017

Research Interest: History of science and medicine; History of surgery; early modern Europe; Western world and American interactions; Economic history; Women and medicine

Sean Palmatier

palmatier.s@husky.neu.edu

Cohort: 2015

Research Interest: Material culture of the early modern Anglo Atlantic and its corresponding societal expressions.

Jamie Parker

parker.ja@husky.neu.edu

Cohort: 2015

Research Interest: European Imperialism's Urban and Spatial History; African History

Simon Purdue

purdue.s@husky.neu.edu

Cohort: 2016

Research Interest: 'Industrial and Labor History; American Social and Cultural History; Gender History; Migration and Migrant Communities; Urban History; Occupational Health

James Robinson

robinson.jame@husky.neu.edu

Cohort: 2015

Research Interests Social and Cultural Histories of Sports; Urban History; Social Movement History; United States in the World

Luke Scalone

scalone.l@husky.neu.edu

Cohort: 2016

Research Interest: Modern France and the French Empire; Pacific Worlds; Colonialism & Imperialism

Olivier Schouteden

schouteden.o@husky.neu.edu

Cohort: 2013

Research Interest: Modern France; French imperialism and colonialism; modern Southeast and Far East Asia

Akin Sefer

sefer.a@husky.neu.edu

Cohort: 2011

Research Interest: Ottoman/Middle Eastern History; Labor History; World History

Daniel Squizzero

squizzero.d@husky.neu.edu

Cohort: 2014

Research Interest:Cultural and Intellectual History; Modern Europe; Fascism; History of the Performing Arts

Will Whitworth

whitworth.w@husky.neu.edu

Cohort: 2016

Research Interest: Contemporary Germany and Poland; The Cold War; History of Social Activism

M.A. in World History

Colleen Nugent

nugent.c@husky.neu.edu

Cohort: 2017

M.A. in Public History

Megan Barney

barney.m@husky.neu.edu

Cohort: 2017

Research Interest: 20th Century American Foreign Policy; Public History of Social Injustice

Fieldwork: St. Lawrence Country Historical Association; Chemung County Historical Society

Lauren Bergnes Sell

bergnessell@husky.neu.edu

Cohort: 2017

Research Interest: Digital Humanities; Intergraded technologies and material presentation; Digital preservation, Augmented Reality and Virtual Reality exhibit design

Fieldwork: The Field Museum; National Science Foundation

Brittany Costello

costello.b@husky.neu.edu

Cohort: 2016

Research Interest: Living history; House museums; Civil War history; Cultural history

Fieldwork: Old North Church

Sara Dean

dean.sa@husky.neu.edu

Cohort: 2017

Research Interest: Cultural history; Modern European history; African American history

Fieldwork:

Caroline Klibanoff

Klibanoff.c@husky.neu.edu

Cohort: 2016

Research Interest: Class, work, and culture in the American South; Digital storytelling

Fieldwork: Northern Light Productions; National Park Service; Early Black Boston Digital Almanac, Cambridge Historical Society

Jessica Nelsen

nelsen.j@husky.neu.edu

Cohort: 2016

Research Interest: Gender and sexuality; Cold War history; History of propaganda

Fieldwork: MacArthur Memorial; JFK Library & Museum; National Park Service

Danay Vera

vera.d@husky.neu.edu

Cohort: 2017

Research Interest: German and Russian 19th-20th century history; Effects of governments on their populations, Interpretation of history

Fieldwork:

Katie Woods

woods.k@husky.neu.edu

Cohort: 2017

Research Interest: 20th century American and European History; Construction of race, class, and gender; Public Memory

Fieldwork: San Diego Museum of Man; Eleanor Roosevelt Papers Project; Luxembourg American Cultural Society

Megan Woods

woods.m@husky.neu.edu

Cohort: 2017

Research Interest: 20th Century American Politics and Culture; The World Wars; The British Monarchy and social classes

Fieldwork: Eleanor Roosevelt Papers Project, San Diego Museum of Man, Luxembourg American Cultural Society

Kara Zekasko

zekasko.k@husky.neu.edu

Cohort: 2016

Research Interest: Collections management; Exhibit design, Gender and sexuality

Fieldwork: Frances Willard Historical Association; Chicago History Museum