Peter Burton Hanson Memorial Lectures and Writing Awards

The annual Peter Burton Hanson Memorial Lectures and Writing Awards are named in the honor and the memory of English alumnus Peter Burton Hanson (SSH ’91), who perished along with his wife, Sue Kim, and young daughter, Christine Lee, aboard United Airlines 175, on September 11, 2001. Peter’s life and values are remembered through these events and awards.

The Department of English is deeply grateful to Peter’s parents, Lee and Eunice Hanson, for their generosity in endowing the Peter Burton Hanson Lecture and Writing Awards.

Peter Burton Hanson Memorial Lectures

2004 Rosanna Warren
2005 Louis Menand
2006 Roland Merullo
2007 Charles Simic
2008 Jay Parini
2010 Ann Harleman
2011 David Damrosch
2012 Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
2013 Jill Lepore
2014 Marjorie Agosín
2015 Kimberly Elkins
2016 Susannah Cahalan
2017 Emily Skillings

Peter Burton Hanson Writing Awards

2016 Award Recipients

In the Category of Creative Writing
Courtney Langdell, “Overture to 33 Gainsborough Street”
Written for Professor Lerner in ENGL 3376, Creative Nonfiction, Fall 2015

In the Category of Scholarly Writing
Isabella Hendricks, “Visual Verse”
Written for Professor Leslie in ENGL 1600, Introduction to Shakespeare, Fall 2015