Skip to content

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is Northeastern’s governing body. The board appoints the president, who leads and manages the university, and works with senior leaders to shape the university’s strategic vision. The board also approves Northeastern’s mission, budget, policies, and significant changes to academic programs, and oversees the university’s finances and assets.

Trustees Emeritae/i

  • Barbara C. Alleyne

  • George D. Behrakis

    Vice Chair Emeritus

  • Margot Botsford

  • Frederick Brodsky

  • Frederick L. Brown

  • Peter B. Cameron

  • Richard P. Chapman Jr.

    Vice Chair Emeritus

  • William J. Cotter

  • John J. Cullinane

  • Harry T. Daniels

  • Neal F. Finnegan

    Chair Emeritus

  • W. Kevin Fitzgerald

  • H. Patricia Hanna

    Vice Chair Emerita

  • Arnold S. Hiatt

  • William S. Howard

  • Richard G. Lesser

  • Diane H. Lupean

  • Robert C. Marini

    Vice Chair Emeritus

  • Roger M. Marino

  • Katherine S. McHugh

    Vice Chair Emerita

  • Henry J. Nasella

    Chair Emeritus

  • Kathryn M. Nicholson

  • Richard C. Ockerbloom

    Vice Chair Emeritus

  • Arthur A. Pappas

  • Ronald L. Rossetti

  • Carole J. Shapazian

    Vice Chair Emerita

  • Robert J. Shillman

  • Janet M. Smith

  • Sy Sternberg

    Chair Emeritus

  • Jean C. Tempel

    Vice Chair Emerita

  • Alan D. Tobin

    Vice Chair Emeritus

  • Catherine A. White

  • Arthur W. Zafiropoulo

  • Ellen M. Zane

Honorary Trustees

  • Scott M. Black

  • Charles K. Gifford

  • Kuntoro Mangkusubroto

  • Lucille R. Zanghi

Powered by experience. Designed for impact.

  • Our impact

    See Northeastern’s achievements and how we’re shaping higher learning and discovery across the globe.

  • Academic Plan: Experience Unleashed 

    Discover our roadmap for taking Northeastern beyond the traditional boundaries of campus. 

  • Northeastern Global News

    Explore our award-winning news channel that delivers analysis and discovery from around the world. 

Take Action