Faculty and Staff

Chairperson

Steven Vallas
Professor and Chairperson
 

Phone: 617-373-3882
Office: 505 Holmes Hall
Email: s.vallas@neu.edu
more »

Faculty

Len Albright, Jr. 

Assistant Professor of Sociology and Public Policy
Member, Social Science Environmental Health Research Institute

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Phone: 617-373-6849
Office: 573 Holmes Hall
Email: l.albright@neu.edu
http://www.lenalbright.com
more »

Arnold Arluke
Professor of Sociology

PhD, New York University 

Phone: 617-373-3855
Office: 519 Holmes Hall
Email: a.arluke@neu.edu
more »

Linda Blum
Associate Professor of Sociology

Ph.D. in Sociology, University of California, Berkeley, 1987 

Phone: 617-373-4995
Office: 543 Holmes Hall
Email: l.blum@neu.edu
more »

Michael Brown
Professor of Sociology

Ph.D., University of Michigan 

Phone: 617-373-3851
Office: 547 Holmes Hall
Email: MikeBrown29@rcn.com
more »

Phil Brown
University Distinguished Professor of Sociology and Health Sciences, Director of Social Science Environmental Health Research Institute

Ph.D., Brandeis University 

Phone: 617-373-7407
Office: 318 International Village
Email: p.brown@neu.edu
more »

Mindelyn Buford II
Assistant Professor of Sociology

Ph.D. in Sociology, The Johns Hopkins University 

Phone: 617-373-3967
Office: 210E Renaissance Park
Email: m.buford@neu.edu
more »

Christopher Chambers
Lecturer and Head Advisor

Ph.D. in Sociology, Texas A&M University 

Phone: 617-373-5696
Office: 541 Holmes Hall
Email: c.chambers@neu.edu
more »

Silvia Dominguez
Associate Professor of Sociology

Ph.D. in Sociology and Social Welfare Policy, Boston University 

Phone: 617-373-4989
Office: 210N Renaissance Park
Email: s.dominguez@neu.edu
more »

Daniel Faber
Professor of Sociology and
Director of Undergraduate Programs and Director of the Northeastern Environmental Justice Research Collaborative, Northeastern University
Ph.D. in Sociology,
University of California at Santa Cruz, December, 1989

 

Phone: 617-373-2878
Office: 509 Holmes Hall
Email: d.faber@neu.edu
more »

Michael Handel
Associate Professor of Sociology

Ph.D., Harvard University 

Phone: 617-373-3620
Office: 539 Holmes Hall
Email: m.handel@neu.edu
more »

Matthew Hunt
Associate Professor of Sociology

Ph.D., Indiana University, 1998 

Phone: 617-373-4997
Office: 523 Holmes Hall
Email: m.hunt@neu.edu
more »

Anthony Jones
Associate Professor of Sociology

Ph.D., Princeton University 

Phone: 617-373-4981
Office: 225H Renaissance Park
Email: t.jones@neu.edu
more »

Jeffrey Juris
Associate Professor of Anthropology

Ph.D. in Anthropology, University of California, Berkeley 

Phone: 617-373-3857
Office: 215N Renaissance Park
Email: j.juris@neu.edu
more »

Maureen Kelleher
Associate Professor of Sociology
Director of University Honors Program

Ph.D., University of Missouri at Columbia 

Phone: 617-373-2333
Office: 150 Richards Hall
Email: m.kelleher@neu.edu
more »

Shelley McDonough Kimelberg
Assistant Professor of Sociology

Ph.D., Harvard University 

Phone: 617-373-3856
Office: 535 Holmes Hall
Email: s.kimelberg@neu.edu
more »

Alan Klein
Professor of Sociology-Anthropology

Ph.D., SUNY Buffalo 

Phone: 617-373-4985
Office: 215G Renaissance Park
Email: a.klein@neu.edu
more »

Thomas H. Koenig
Professor of Sociology

Ph.D., University of California at Santa Barbara 

Phone: 617-373-3854
Office: 537 Holmes Hall
Email: t.koenig@neu.edu
more »

Doreen Lee
Assistant Professor of Anthropology

Ph.D., Cornell University 

Phone: 617-373-8218
Office: 215J Renaissance Park
Email: do.lee@neu.edu
more »

Alisa Lincoln
Associate Professor of Health Sciences and Sociology

Ph.D. in Sociomedical Sciences, Columbia University 

Phone: 617-373-3485
Office: 521 Holmes Hall
Email: al.lincoln@neu.edu
more »

Ineke Marshall
Professor of Sociology

Ph.D., Bowling Green State University 

Phone: 617-373-4988
Office: 539 Holmes Hall
Email: i.marshall@neu.edu
more »

Ramiro Martinez, Jr.
Professor of Criminal Justice and Sociology

Ph.D., Ohio State University 

Phone: 617-373-7066
Office: 403 Churchill Hall
Email: r.martinez@neu.edu
more »

Valentine M. Moghadam
Professor of Sociology and International Affairs
Director, International Affairs Program

Ph.D. 1986, The American University, Washington, D.C. 

Phone: 617-373-5472
Office: 201 Renaissance Park
Email: v.moghadam@neu.edu
more »

Gordana Rabrenovic
Associate Professor of Sociology and Education
Associate Director of the Brudnick Center on Violence and Conflict

Ph.D., State University of New York at Albany 

Phone: 617-373-4998
Office: 571 Holmes Hall
Email: g.rabrenovic@neu.edu
more »

Laura Senier
Assistant Professor of Sociology and Health Sciences

Ph.D., Brown University 

Phone: 617-373-7482
Office: 533 Holmes Hall
Email: l.senier@neu.edu
more »

Nina Sylvanus
Assistant Professor of Anthropology

Ph.D., Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales (EHESS), Paris, France 

Phone: 617-373-4270
Office: 210M Renaissance Park
Email: n.sylvanus@neu.edu
more »

Berna Turam
Associate Professor of Sociology

Ph.D. McGill University, Department of Sociology, Canada 

Phone: 617-373-4137
Office: 225J Renaissance Park
Email: b.turam@neu.edu
more »

Suzanna Walters
Professor of Sociology and Director of Women’s, Gender and Sexuality Studies Program

Ph.D., The Graduate Center, City University of New York 1990 

Phone: 617-373-8519
Office: 561 Holmes Hall
Email: s.walters@neu.edu
more »

Liza Weinstein
Assistant Professor of Sociology

Ph.D., University of Chicago, 2009 

Phone: 617-373-4274
Office: 215M Renaissance Park
Email: l.weinstein@neu.edu
more »

Sara Wylie
Assistant Professor of Anthropology

Social Science and Environmental Health Research Institute
Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology 

Phone: 617-373-2385
Office: 335 International Village
Email: s.wylie@neu.edu
more »

Kathrin Zippel
Associate Professor of Sociology

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin at Madison 

Phone: 617-373-3852
Office: 225F Renaissance Park
Email: k.zippel@neu.edu
more »

Affiliated Faculty

Barry Bluestone
Professor of Political Economy

PhD, New York University 

Phone: 617-373-8595
Office: 343 Holmes Hall
Email: b.bluestone@neu.edu
more »

Faculty Emeritus

Winifred Breines
Professor Emeritus of Sociology

Ph.D., Brandeis University 

Email: w.breines@neu.edu
more »

Luis Falcon
Professor Emeritus of Sociology

Ph.D. in Sociology, Cornell University
Email: Luis_Falcon@uml.edu
more » 

Wilfred Holton
Associate Professor Emeritus of Sociology

Ph.D. in Sociology, Boston University, 1972
Email: w.holton@neu.edu
more » 

Debra Renee Kaufman
Professor Emeritus of Sociology

Ph.D., Cornell University 

Email: d.kaufman@neu.edu
more »

Jack Levin
Irving and Betty Brudnick Professor Emeritus of Sociology and Criminology

Ph.D., Boston University 

Phone: 617-373-4983
Office: 569 Holmes Hall
Email: j.levin@neu.edu
more »

Judith Perrolle
Associate Professor Emeritus of Sociology

Ph.D., Brown University 

Phone: 617-373-4500
Office: 530 Holmes Hall
Email: perrolle@ccs.neu.edu
more »