RISE is followed by the Reach Awards Reception where students’ exceptional research will be recognized.

Outstanding Research Awards
Seven Outstanding Student Research Awards are presented in each category of research. These students will receive a RISE Medal to acknowledge their remarkable presentations.

RISE Awards
The RISE Awards are presented to those who show excellence in Research, Innovation, and Scholarship, with each also receiving a $1,000 cash reward. The final award is given to the presentation that receives the most RISE Dollars during RISE and who displays the greatest excellence in Entrepreneurship. They also receive a $5,000 cash reward.

Best Video Pitch
New this year, students who submit a video pitch in MyRISE will be eligible for recognition at the the Reach Awards Reception. The highest scoring video presentation will be recognized with the Best Video Pitch award as well as a $500 cash reward.

RISE:2014 Winners

Research – David Walsh
The Research award is given to students who display excellent procedure and method in their exploration and study.

Innovation – Chris Marciano
The Innovation award is given to students who discover novel and revolutionary inventions or processes and that can be translated into real-world applications or has practical implications.

Scholarship – Sean Kocur
The Scholarship award is given to  students who display an academic breakthrough in a particular branch or filed.

Entrepreneurship- Amir Farjadian
The People’s Choice award, this is given to students who display research with the greatest entrepreneurial potential.

Computer and Information Sciences

Undergraduate: Chris Germano
Graduate: Ceyhun Karbeyaz

Engineering and Technology

Undergraduate: David Potter
Graduate: David Walsh

Health Sciences

Undergraduate: Emily Nasson
Graduate:Sean Kocur

Humanities and Arts

Undergraduate: Joey Lafyatis
Graduate: Chris Marciano 


Undergraduate: Matt Gowie
Graduate: Jodi Belz

Physical and Life Sciences

Undergraduate: Douglas Townsend
Graduate: Jennifer Woodring

Social Sciences, Business and Law

Undergraduate: Inbae Choi
Graduate:  Mollie Ruben

Best Video Pitch Award – Philip Strandwitz

COE Dean’s Award – Aida Ehyaei

SREC Engineering Award – Robinson Greig

Graduate Student Government Award- Amirah Aly

RISE:2013 Winners