Sponsor:  Blavatnik Family Foundation

Sponsor Program Solicitation: Blavatnik Awards for Young Scientists
Funding Amount: $250,000

Status of this Limited Submission Opportunity

Closed - Submitting PI: John Engen (Chemistry), Heather Clark (Pharm Sci), Yung Joon Jung (MIE)


NU Pre-Proposal Deadline: 09/22/2013
Sponsor Deadline: 11/22/2013

Eligibility and Nomination Requirements

Northeastern University may nominate one faculty candidate per each of three overarching disciplinary categories: Life Sciences; Physical Sciences & Engineering; and Chemistry. All nominations must be submitted online by either the President or Provost (or their official designee) of the host institution.

To be eligible for the national faculty competition, candidates must:

  • Have been born in or after 1972.
  • Have earned a doctorate degree (PhD, DPhil, MD, DDS, DVM, etc.).
  • Be currently holding a faculty research position at an eligible academic institution in the United States.
  • Have made significant contributions to the Life Sciences, Physical Sciences & Engineering, and/or Chemistry.

Please see the sponsor’s website for the list of eligible disciplines.

Candidates may be nominated once per year, for an unlimited number of years, until they are named a winner or they no longer meet the eligibility requirements.




Funding Areas

The Blavatnik Awards program was designed to provide young, extraordinary scientists with the funding and recognition necessary to carry out the scientific work essential to address society’s current and future challenges. The expanded National Program is comprised of three overarching disciplinary categories: Physical Sciences & Engineering; Chemistry; and Life Sciences. Every year, one winner in each category will be awarded $250,000 in unrestricted funds. National faculty winners will be honored at an awards ceremony each autumn, commencing in September 2014.