Sponsor:  Blavatnik Family Foundation

Sponsor Program Solicitation: Blavatnik Awards for Young Scientists
Funding Amount: $250,000

Status of this Limited Submission Opportunity

Closed - Submitting PI: Mark Niedre, ECE (Physical Sciences & Engineering Nominee)


NU Pre-Proposal Deadline: 10/03/2014
Sponsor Deadline: 11/25/2014

Eligibility and Nomination Requirements

Special Nomination Process:

These submissions are being coordinated through the Office of the Provost. Deans of the Colleges of Science, Engineering, Health Sciences, and Computer and Information Science may nominate a single candidate for each of the disciplinary categories of Life Sciences, Physical Sciences & Engineering, and Chemistry. Internal nominations are due by Friday, October 3. The internal nomination materials should include a CV and a brief statement summarizing the nominee’s qualifications for this extremely competitive award. Internal nomination materials should be emailed to Karen Drew, at k.drew@neu.edu.

Eligible institutions may nominate one faculty candidate per each of three overarching disciplinary categories: Life Sciences; Physical Sciences & Engineering; and Chemistry. All nominations must be submitted online by either the President (or equivalent) or Provost (or their official designee) of the host institution.

To be eligible for the national faculty competition, candidates must:

  • Have been born in or after 1973.
  • Hold a doctoral degree (PhD, DPhil, MD, DDS, DVM, etc.).
  • Currently hold a faculty position at an invited institution in the United States.
  • Have made significant research contributions to the Life Sciences, Physical Sciences & Engineering, or Chemistry during their independent career as a principal investigators.

Candidates may be nominated once per year, for an unlimited number of years, until they are named a winner or they no longer meet the eligibility requirements.

Funding Areas

The Blavatnik National Awards for Young Scientists recognize the country’s most promising young faculty-rank scientists and engineers in the disciplinary categories of Life Sciences, Physical Sciences & Engineering, and Chemistry.

One Blavatnik Laureate in each disciplinary category will receive $250,000 in unrestricted funds and will be offered an opportunity to publish in Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences on the topic for which he/she is being honored.

The national faculty awards will be conferred at a ceremony held New York City in the fall of 2015.