Alvero Cuervo-Cazurra, assistant professor of international business and strategy in the D’Amore-McKim School of Business, joined the executive committee of the International Management Division of the Academy of Management.

Four professors of mathematics, Christopher King, Venkatramani Lakshmibai, Mikhail Shubin, and Andrei Zelevinsky, have been named to the inaugural class of Fellows of the American Mathematical Society. The society was founded in 1888 to further the interests of mathematical research and scholarship.

Phil Brown, University Distinguished Professor of Sociology and Health Sciences and director of the Social Science Environmental Health Research Institute, has been honored with the 2012 Leo G. Reeder Award, presented at the annual meeting of the American Sociological Association’s Medical Sociology Section. The award recognizes scholarly contributions to both theory and research in medical sociology and acknowledges teaching, mentoring, and service to the medical sociology community, broadly defined.

Jeff Howe, assistant professor in the School of Journalism, spent July in Thailand and Burma, investigating the extraordinary impact of Chinese soft power—foreign loans, infrastructure investments, and bilateral agreements—on Southeast Asia. GlobalPost published a five-part series produced by Howe and photographer Gary Knight.