On July 4, 2012, scientists working at the Large Hadron Collider at CERN, Switzerland, announced the observation of a new, theoretically predicted particle, the Higgs boson, which has been called the ultimate building block for all matter. This particle was detected using a Compact Muon Solenoid (CMS), developed by an international collaborative that includes Northeastern's Elementary Particle Physics group, led by professors George Alverson, Emanuela Barberis, and Darien Wood in the Department of Physics.

The recent Supreme Court ruling that upheld the individual mandate clause of the Affordable Care Act included a citation by Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg of an amicus brief co-authored by Wendy Parmet, George J. and Kathleen Waters Matthews Distinguished University Professor of Law. Parmet has served as the counsel of record for a group of Massachusetts health care advocates who have argued that the state's healthcare reforms cannot reach their full potential without federal assistance.

Gary Young, director of the Center for Health Policy and Healthcare Research and professor of strategic management and healthcare systems in the College of Business Administration, has been selected by the United States Secretary of the Treasury to serve a 2-year term on the Internal Revenue Service's Advisory Committee on Tax Exempt and Government Entities. Members of the committee advise the IRS on operational policy and procedural improvements on several fronts, including employee retirement plans, tax- exempt bonds, tax-exempt organizations, including hospitals, churches, colleges and universities, and federal, state, local, and Indian tribal governments.

Joseph Raelin, Asa S. Knowles Chair of Practice-Oriented Education in the College of Business Administration, won the Best Paper Award at the 2012 ASEE Annual Conference & Exposition for "The Effect of Cooperative Education on the Self-Efficacy of Students in Undergraduate Engineering."