Navigation Bar: Campus Tour, Maps, Boston, Campus News, NU Home
Northeastern University logo/Center for Work and Learning PhotoCenter for Work and Learning logo
Home
• POE Community
Advisory Board
Faculty Research Fellows
Faculty Learning Community
• Programs and Events
• Current Projects and Research
• POE Resources
• About Us
• Work and Learning Home
POE Community >
Faculty Research Fellows

PROGRAM DESCRIPTION

The POE Faculty Research Fellows program was inaugurated in Fall 2003. Faculty members are selected following a competitive application process. The Fellows program serves as an incubator for:

  • Developing research on critical processes and outcomes of POE, including approaches in use at NU and at other comparison institutions or organizations
  • Nurturing a community of NU scholars interested in conducting research on POE
  • Securing external funding to conduct such research
  • Disseminating POE research results through conference presentations and publications

The Fellows meet on a monthly basis and serve as resources to each other in the form of a learning team. At the end of the Fellowship term, each Research Fellow will have:

  • Developed a rigorous research proposal to investigate specific process(es) or outcomes of practice-oriented approaches to education within their College, School or Department at NU and at comparison institutions
  • Submitted the proposal to one or more external funding sources
  • Developed a concept paper for eventual submission to an academic publication and/ or conference

 


2006-2007 Fellows

(Please click on their names to view their project descriptions).

Brenda Douglas
Assistant Clinical Specialist
School of Nursing – Bouve College of Health Sciences
Northeastern University
103 Robinson Hall
b.douglas@neu.edu
617-373-3106

Ann McDonald
Associate Academic Specialist
Department of Visual Arts – College of Arts & Sciences
Northeastern University
239 Ryder Hall
a.mcdonald@neu.edu
617-373-2682

Richard Kesner
Lecturer
Dept. of Information, Operations and Analysis, College of Business Administration
Northeastern University
214 Hayden Hall
r.kesner@neu.edu
617-373-7288

Malcolm Hill
Professor
Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences – College of Arts & Sciences
Northeastern University
14 Holmes Hall
m.hill@neu.edu
617-373-4741

Richard Strasser and Katherine McLaughlin
Assistant Professor and Assistant Cooperative Education Coordinator
Department of Music – College of Arts & Science
Northeastern University
351 Ryder Hall
r.strasser@neu.edu, ka.mclaughlin@neu.edu
617-373-4060, 617-373-2736

2005-2006 Fellows

(Please click on their names to view their project descriptions).

Jane Aroian
Associate Professor and Coordinator of Nursing Administration
School of Nursing – Bouve College of Health Sciences
Northeastern University
207 Robinson Hall
j.aroian@neu.edu
617-373-3128

Elise J. Dallimore
Assistant Professor
Department of Communication Studies – College of Arts & Sciences
Northeastern University
125 Holmes Hall
e.dallimore@neu.edu
617-373-4074

Robert L. Fried
Associate Professor
School of Education – College of Arts & Sciences
Northeastern University
39 Lake Hall
r.fried@neu.edu
617-373-8863

Lori Gardinier
Program Director and Lecturer
Department of Human Services – College of Arts & Sciences
Northeastern University
585 Holmes Hall
l.gardinier@neu.edu
617-373-5918

George F. Thompson
Assistant Professor
Department of Counseling & Applied Psychology – Bouve College of Health Sciences
Northeastern University
203 Lake Hall
g.thompson@neu.edu
617-373-8291



2004-2005 Fellows
(Please click on their names to view their project descriptions.)

Dawn Anderson
Associate Director
International Study Programs
Northeastern University
1 Meserve Hall
da.anderson@neu.edu
617-373-8781

John Coley
Associate Professor
Psychology - College of Arts & Sciences
Northeastern University
125 Nightingale Hall
j.coley@neu.edu
617-373-3548

Dr. Vanessa D. Johnson
Assistant Professor and Director
Bouve College Student Development & Counseling Progr.
Northeastern University
203 Lake Hall
v.johnson@neu.edu
617-373-3276

David Rochefort
Distinguished Professor
Political Science - College of Arts & Sciences
Northeastern University
303 Meserve Hall
d.rochefort@neu.edu
617-373-4399

Tricia McConville, MBA
Academic Director, Leadership
SPCS/CBA Lecturer
Department of Management and Leadership
School of Professional and Continuing Studies
Northeastern University
261 Ryder Hall
t.mcconville@neu.edu
617-373-3847


2003-2004 Fellows
(Please click on their names to view their project descriptions.)

Betsey Blackmer
Associate Professor
Cooperative Education Department
Bouve College of Health Sciences
6 Robinson Hall
617-373-3448
b.blackmer@neu.edu

Lorna Hayward
Assistant Professor
Physical Therapy
Bouve College of Health Sciences
6 Robinson Hall
617-373-3180
l.hayward@neu.edu

Pam Mabrouk
Associate Professor
Chemistry and Chemical Biology
College of Arts and Sciences
102 Hurtig Hall
617-373-2845
p.mabrouk@neu.edu

Peter Manning
Brooks Professor
College of Criminal Justice
400 Churchill Hall
617-373-7748
pet.manning@neu.edu

Peter Murrell
Associate Professor
School of Education
College of Arts and Sciences
50 Nightingale Hall
617-373-5668
p.murrell@neu.edu

Tom Sherman
Associate Professor
Mathematics
College of Arts and Sciences
567 Lake Hall
617-373-2785
t.sherman@neu.edu

Ralf Schlosser
Associate Professor
Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology
Bouve College of Health Sciences
106A Forsyth Building
617-373-3785
r.schlosser@neu.edu

 

POE Fellows: A Community of Practice Dedicated to Integrative Teaching, Learning, and Scholarship November 19, 2004. The Center for Effective University Teaching (CEUT) at Northeastern University sponsored a symposium and poster session to showcase the work of Northeastern faculty who are engaged in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL). Our seven research fellows from academic year 2003-04 participated in the symposium and were able to share abstracts from their research proposals with the rest of the academic community. For more information, please click on the below links:


NU Home Campus News Campus Tour Maps Boston