Fellowships and Awards

The University offers financial and academic support to Northeastern students seeking to conduct original research/projects. The new Undergraduate and Creative Endeavors Program encourages students to carry out both early and advanced independent research/projects under the mentorship of Northeastern faculty.


Provost Awards

Visit the Undergraduate and Creative Endeavors Program website for  information on funding, eligibility, and application requirements.


Application Deadline for Spring 2016 funding period: October 31, 2015

The Physics department offers several fellowship award programs intended to promote undergraduate research as well as to facilitate the path to graduate education in physics at the doctoral level.

Lawrence Research Fellowships

The department awards every year one or two Lawrence Research Fellowships intended to foster Undergraduate Research.  Students receive a $2,000 stipend for this award if a single award is made or $1,000 if two awards are made. Interested students should seek a host research lab in the Physics department in advance of the submission deadline.

Eligibility: Physics undergraduate students in years ranging from sophomore through senior year.

Application Deadline: October 15, 2015.

Please submit nominations by email to the Undergraduate Curriculum Committee Chair (b.nelson@neu.edu) including:

  1. A two page research proposal
  2. A letter of support from the Physics faculty advisor

Decisions will be made by November 15, 2015 for awards in support of research carried out during the Spring semester, 2016.  A student receiving an award is required to present preliminary results of his/her research in a poster submitted to the Northeastern University Spring EXPO.

2013 Lawrence Research Fellowships Recipients

Susie Nimitpattana

2012 Lawrence Research Fellowships Recipients

Meriem Bahira
Clarissa Ruslie

Physics Research Co-op Fellowships

The Physics Department invites applications for several fellowships to support undergraduate physics research experience, including the Lawrence fellowship, the Physics Alumni fellowship, and one or more Departmental co-op fellowships.  Each $6,500 fellowship is to support a co-op internship in the research group of a NEU physics faculty member who is expected to cost-share $6,500.  The coop can be on campus or at a national/international research institution collaborating with the faculty. Each fellowship could also be used to provide a stipend for an otherwise unpaid research co-op off campus.

Eligibility: undergraduate students in all Physics degrees in years ranging from sophomore to junior with a minimum 3.0 GPA.

Application deadlines for any calendar year: 

  1. March 1st for the Summer 2 and Fall division A co-op period starting July 1st in that calendar year.
  2. October 1st for the Spring and Summer 1 division B co-op period starting January 1st in the following calendar year.

Application material:  The following material needs to be submitted by, through the Northeastern University co-op online COOL system:
1.      Curriculum Vitae
2.      Paragraph describing the coop research project
3.      Faculty letter of support including a $6,500 cost share commitment
Please consult with the Physics co-op coordinator Lisa Campagnoni (l.campagnoni@neu.edu) for details on uploading the material on the COOL system.  Award decisions will be given  at April 1st for the Summer 2 and Fall division A co-op and November 1st for the Spring and Summer 1 division B co-op period.

2014 Lawrence Research Coop Fellowship Recipient

Andrew Clark
Andrew McCabe

2013 Lawrence Research Coop Fellowship Recipient

James Maniscalco

Lawrence Awards

Each year top undergraduate students will receive Lawrence Awards for Scholastic Excellence and Excellence in Teaching.

2014 Lawrence Award for Scholastic Excellence

Keith Harrigian
Nicholas Haubrich
Sarah Klem
Julie Wiedemann
Jacob Wolfsberg
Alexander Piers
Trithep Devakul
Tushar Swamy

2014 Lawrence Award for Excellence in Teaching

Jack Heimann

Provost Research Awards

The Office of the Provost sponsors a number of undergraduate research projects during the current academic year. More information about these awards, including the application process, can be found on the Undergraduate Student Research page.

2013-2014 Undergraduate Research Award Recipients

Meriem Bahira, Physics
Quantifying the DNA Binding Kinetics of a Ruthenium Dimer Complex with a Flexible Linker
Faculty Menor, Mark Williams

Trithep Devakul, Physics
Identification of Magneli Phase in TiO2 Resistive Switching Devices
Faculty Mentor, Don Heiman

Undergraduate Student Research and Travel Award

All undergraduate students are eligible to receive research and travel funding up to $1,000.