Course Registration & Transfer Credit

Home > Transition to Boston > Course Registration & Transfer Credit

AP, IB, and College Transfer Credits from before N.U.in
Prior to beginning the N.U.in Program, students must ensure that Northeastern University receives original documentation of all transfer credit and/or test scores for consideration. Northeastern evaluates the test scores and transfer credit to determine if the credit will be accepted and, if so, what requirements will be fulfilled. These important details help the N.U.in staff and academic advisers to ensure accurate course registration for the fall and spring semesters. If you have questions regarding your credit evaluation please email the Office of Undergraduate Admissions at admissions@neu.edu.

The N.U.in Program & Northeastern's Transfer Credit Policy
The N.U.in staff has worked closely with the Northeastern University Colleges and our partners abroad to ensure that students are enrolled in courses abroad that fulfill Northeastern major, Core, and elective requirements. Upon returning to campus, all courses successfully completed with a grade equivalent of a C or higher while in the N.U.in Program will appear on students’ Northeastern academic records as transfer credit, but will not be calculated into their Grade Point Average. Students receive one original transcript each, which will have their grades from our partner institutions abroad should they require the transcripts to apply to graduate school or other post-undergraduate opportunities. Any additional copies will need to be requested directly from our partner institutions by students.

Spring Course Registration
In approximately mid-November, academic advisers begin to register students for courses required by their majors. When processing course registration, advisers have access to current N.U.in course information and any transfer credit and/or AP/IB credit completed during high school through college courses or examinations. Depending on the flexibility of their major's curriculum, students may be pre-registered for all, or just a few, courses during the month of November by their advisers. Northeastern Colleges then contact students via email regarding course selection and any college-specific protocols. 

All students meet with their academic advisers during Spring New Student Orientation in January to finalize their schedules and to rectify any concerns. If students have additional questions they may contact their college directly. Please view the list below for the designated college staff:

Bouvé College of Health Science Jennifer O'Flynn j.oflynn@neu.edu
College of Arts, Media and Design CAMD Advising camdadvising@neu.edu
College of Computer and Information Science Wendy Gordon-Hewick w.gordon-hewick@neu.edu
College of Engineering

Laura Kenney l.kenney@neu.edu

Lara Obadowski l.obadowski@neu.edu

College of Science

Jana Clark j.clark@neu.edu
College of Social Sciences and Humanities Andrew Casasanto-Ferro a.casasantoferro@neu.edu
D'Amore-McKim School of Business Kristina Salwen (BSBA) k.salwen@neu.edu

Renee Battaglia (BSBA) r.battaglia@neu.edu

Diane Duchardt (BSIB) d.duchardt@neu.edu

Robin Cohen (BSIB) r.cohen@neu.edu
Program for Undeclared Students Kim Irmiter k.irmiter@neu.edu