Host Institution

Home > Australia > Host Institution


Swinburne University of Technology (SUT) 

The Australia program partners with Swinburne University of Technology. Swinburne began with a rather simple premise in 1908: to offer technical education to people in Melbourne’s eastern suburbs. Since then, SUT has continuously grown to extend its presence within Australia and internationally.  In 1998, Swinburne expanded its reach into Melbourne’s eastern suburbs by amalgamating with the Outer Eastern College of TAFE. Classes were now running at the five campuses that make up Swinburne today: Croydon, Hawthorn, Lilydale, Prahran and Wantirna. In 2000, Swinburne expanded internationally, opening an additional campus at Sarawak, Malaysia. What began as a local technical college in Hawthorn has now grown to serve communities from the inner to outer eastern suburbs of Melbourne, and internationally.