In its final meeting of the aca­d­emic year, Northeastern’s Fac­ulty Senate elected Uni­ver­sity Dis­tin­guished Pro­fessor Richard Day­nard as new chair of the Senate Agenda Com­mittee, the senate’s six-​​member lead­er­ship group. Day­nard, who was unop­posed in his nom­i­na­tion, is a cur­rent member of the committee.

Mary Jo Ondrechen, pro­fessor of biology and chem­ical biology, was also elected sec­re­tary of the Senate Agenda Com­mittee. Hillary Poriss, asso­ciate pro­fessor of music, was reelected to the com­mittee, along with three newly-​​elected mem­bers: Carmen Sceppa, asso­ciate pro­fessor of health sci­ences; Carey Rap­pa­port, pro­fessor of elec­trical and com­puter engi­neering; and Stuart Peter­freund, pro­fessor of Eng­lish and acting chair of the Depart­ment of Com­mu­ni­ca­tion Studies.

Day­nard and Stephen W. Director, provost and senior vice pres­i­dent for aca­d­emic affairs, lauded both the cur­rent and new mem­bers of the Senate Agenda Com­mittee, and the senate as a whole. Fac­ulty Senate mem­bers also acknowl­edged the hard work of Daynard’s pre­de­cessor Lou Kruger, an asso­ciate pro­fessor of coun­seling and applied psy­chology. Kruger thanked senate mem­bers for their ser­vice and their friendship.

It’s clear that fac­ulty par­tic­i­pa­tion is helping this uni­ver­sity achieve its mis­sion,” Director said. “Serving on the Fac­ulty Senate is a com­mit­ment of time and energy, and the uni­ver­sity is much stronger for having people who are willing to ded­i­cate them­selves to that.”

During the meeting, the Fac­ulty Senate approved a broad range of res­o­lu­tions, including new degree pro­grams, a com­mittee report on teacher eval­u­a­tions, a stu­dent res­i­dency require­ment and an ad hoc report on shared governance.

Five newly-​​approved degree pro­grams are: a master of sci­ence in phar­ma­ceu­ti­cals, a doctor of phi­los­ophy in phar­ma­cology, a doctor of phi­los­ophy in phar­ma­ceu­ti­cals, a pro­fes­sional mas­ters degree in bio­med­ical nan­otech­nology and the Audi­ology Plus 3 program.