The Program on Human Rights and the Global Economy (PHRGE) is overseen by faculty co-directors Professors Martha Davis, Lucy Williams and Margaret Woo, and staffed by Executive Director Kevin Murray and Program Associate, Sara Kominers. Twenty-three additional members of the Northeastern law school faculty are PHRGE affiliated faculty. PHRGE also hosts graduate research fellows and undergraduate student interns.

Faculty Co-Directors

Professor Brook Baker

Professor Lucy A. Williams

Professor Margaret Woo

Professor Martha F. Davis  - on leave


Elizabeth Ennen, Assistant Director
(617) 373-8194

Alfred Brownell
Distinguished Scholar in Residence

Alfred Brownell, came to the School of Law from Liberia in December 2016. He has been re-appointed as a Distinguished Scholar in Residence for a second year, through December 2018. His faculty sponsor is Lucy Williams. One of Africa’s leading environmental and human rights defenders, Brownell works in the area of indigenous land rights.

As a founder, CEO, and Lead Campaigner at Green Advocates, Liberia’s first public-interest environmental law and human rights organization, Brownell has worked for almost twenty years as researcher, legal counsel and advocate for impoverished rural communities to ensure them a voice in decisions affecting their natural resources. In his field research, Brownell has established the serious human rights impacts of large agribusiness activities, including the destruction of sacred sites, burial grounds, farmlands, forests and wetlands that serve as a primary source of food for local communities. He has also documented the deleterious impact on food security and on traditional subsistence farming practices prompted by the introduction of monocrop agriculture.

Brownell co-authored Liberia’s first comprehensive framework environmental legislation and legislation related to the Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (EITI) and Liberia’s progressive land rights policy, which establishes customary land as a category of land ownership with the same status as private property rights. He is also widely recognized for his leadership in the field of natural resource rights. Mr. Brownell serves on the Steering Committee of the Corporate Accountability Working Group of the International Network for Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (ESCR-Net) and coordinates inputs from African civil society organizations into to the drafting of a UN treaty on business and human rights. He is a Steering Committee member of the ETO (extraterritorial obligations) Consortium, Coordinating Committee member at OECD-Watch, a founding member of the Kimberley Process Civil Society Coalition and former international board member of the EITI. Regionally, he serves as Head of Secretariat and Facilitator of the Mano River Union Civil Society Natural Resources Rights and Governance Platform, which is bringing a multi-state lawsuit at the ECOWAS Court against seven African governments for their failure to protect the rights of local communities.

Brownell is a 1994 graduate of the University of Liberia, College of Agriculture and Forestry (Bachelor of Science in General Agriculture). He is a 1999 graduate of the Louis Arthur Grimes School of Law, University of Liberia (JD/LLB) and a 2002 graduate of Tulane University Law School, New Orleans, LA (LLM in Environment and Energy Law).

Affiliated Faculty  

Professor Roger I. Abrams

Professor Aziza Ahmed

Professor Leo Beletsky 

Professor Lee P. Breckenridge

Professor Richard A. Daynard

Professor Rashmi Dyal-Chand

Professor Peter D. Enrich

Professor Patricia Illingworth

Professor Karl E. Klare

Professor Sarah Hooke Lee

Senior Law Librarian Jootaek Lee

Professor Tiffany Kim

Clinical Professor Margo Lindauer

Senior Academic Specialist Susan Maze-Rothstein

Professor Michael Meltsner

Professor Valentine M. Moghadam

Professor Serena Parekh

Professor Wendy Parmet

Professor David Phillips

Gordana Rabrenovic

Professor Sonia Rolland

Professor Rachel Rosenbloom

Academic Specialist Peter Sessa

Professor Liza Weinstein