Meeting Photo 2 4:4On April 4, 2013, the Kostas Research Institute hosted the semi-annual meeting of the Regional Response Team (Region 1).  The RRT1 is the federal component of the National Response System for the states of Main, Vermont, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Rhode Island and Connecticut.  RRT1 is made up of representatives from 16 federal departments and agencies and each of the New England states.  It is co-chaired by the Manager of the Emergency Planning and Response Branch from the Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) regional office in Boston, MA, and the Chief of the Marine Safety Division of the United States Coast Guard’s First District.