Skip to content

NEFAC announces its 2013 New England First Amendment Institute fellows

PROVIDENCE, R.I. – Journalists from a variety of media and all six New England states will gather in Dedham, Mass., Sept. 29-Oct. 1 to learn the latest investigative and database reporting techniques and public records access skills.

The fellows chosen for this, the New England First Amendment Coalition’s third annual Institute, reflect today’s diverse news media and come from daily and weekly newspapers, television and radio stations and online publications.

 ”The interest shown in joining this year’s class was very gratifying,” said Rosanna Cavanagh, NEFAC’s executive director. “The strength of the candidates made the selection process very difficult.”

“They and their organizations feel strongly about the mission  NEFAC was created to advance – the people’s right to know that their elected and appointed officials are honoring the public’s trust,” she said.

 Here, by state and professional affiliation, are the 2013 fellows:
Connecticut: Maggie Gordon, Hearst Connecticut Newspapers; Tina Detelj and David Iversen, WTNH; Alec Johnson, Republican-American; Jessica Glenza, The Register Citizen; Viktoria Sundqvist, The Middletown Press; Jenna Carlesso, The Courant; Lisa Backus, The Bristol Press.
Maine: David Harry, The Forecaster; Matthew Curren, WGME.
Massachusetts: Schuyler Velasco, The Christian Science Monitor; Doug Fraser, Cape Cod Times; Neal Simpson, The Patriot Ledger; Joshua Miller and Wes Lowery, The Boston Globe; Neena Pathak, The Schuster Institute for Investigative Journalism; Shawn Musgrave,MuckRock.

New Hampshire: Todd Bookman, New Hampshire Public Radio; Christopher Garofolo,Eagle Times; Sarah Brubeck, Valley News; Kaitlin Mulhere, Keene Sentinel; Kathryn Marchocki, New Hampshire Union Leader.

Rhode Island: Mark Reynolds and Bill Malinowski, The Providence Journal.

Vermont: Nathan Burgess, Stowe Reporter; Jennifer Reading, WCAX; Olga Peters, The Commons

The program will take place at the New England Newspaper and Press Association‘s headquarters in Dedham.

Cavanagh said the program is supported by grants from the McLean Contributionship and theNational Freedom of Information Coalition and sponsorships from New England Society of Newspaper Editors, the Academy of New England Journalists, Hearst NewspapersThe Providence Journal Charitable FoundationThe Boston Globe and Sam Adams.