The 2013 Nobel Prize in Physics has been awarded to François Englert and Peter W. Higgs for their “theoretical discovery of a mechanism that contributes to our understanding of the origin of mass of subatomic particles”, which was confirmed last year by the discovery of the Higgs boson by the ATLAS and CMS Experiments at the Large Hadron Collider at CERN. The experimental particle physics group at Northeastern has been involved with the CMS Experiment and the search for the Higgs boson for many years. The Northeastern CMS Group is thrilled to have been a part of this important discovery and is looking forward to further exploration at the high energy frontier.

Press Release

Nobel Prize in Physics 2013