The 8th North American Mössbauer Symposium will convene at Northeastern University in Boston on January 8 and 9, 2015.


This biennial conference traditionally attracts scientists from across the continent, but also welcomes overseas participants, and plays a unique role as the only North American conference devoted to multidisciplinary applications of nuclear resonance spectroscopy.

Since the discovery of recoilless absorption of gamma rays by nuclei, recognized by the Nobel Prize in Physics awarded to Rudolf Mössbauer in 1961, Mössbauer spectroscopy has matured into an experimental method that contributes to diverse disciplines including physics, chemistry, biology, geology, and materials science. The development of brilliant X-ray sources at synchrotron facilities has further extended applications of nuclear resonance spectroscopy to include measurement of nuclear absorption with recoil, allowing quantitative measurement of vibrational and elastic properties. Experimental capabilities developed at dedicated beamlines enable measurements of diverse materials and experimental conditions, including extremes of temperature and pressure. Both laboratory- and synchrotron-based methods are established as highly selective probes of structure and dynamics at the active site of metalloproteins.

The unique depth and breadth of Mössbauer spectroscopy will continue to enrich our understanding of physical, chemical, biological, and planetary processes. Following the tradition of previous meetings, the symposium will gather researchers from diverse research areas, united by the investigative power of nuclear resonance methods. Opportunities for informal interactions will enhance the formal program, and we anticipate that the ease of travel to Boston will facilitate strong participation.

The conference will be held in 20 West Village F, which is 23F on this map.


Registration Fees:
Early Registration: $100
Late Registration (Dec 13-Jan 2): $125
On-site Registration: $150

Organizing Committee:
J. Timothy Sage, Northeastern University
Ercan Alp, Argonne National Laboratory
Brent Fultz, California Institute of Technology
Ravi Kukkadapu, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Jung-Fu Lin, University of Texas at Austin

Questions can be sent to Meghan Eckner at