Dr. Alexander Skavenski was a neuroscientist and professor of Psychology at Northeastern University.  In addition to his important contributions to the understanding of the visual system, Alex Skavenski was a dedicated teacher.  Alex and Jim Stellar, another member of the Psychology Department, established the Behavioral Neuroscience program in 1994 to bolster neuroscience education at Northeastern and support the next generation of scientists.  Alex served as the first Director of the BNS program, and was Director when the first students graduate in 1996 and 1997.

The Skavenski Award was created in Alex’s memory to honor his contributions to the BNS program and the University.  This prestigious award recognizes students with not only outstanding academic achievements in the classroom, but also acknowledges student leadership and excellence in laboratory research, cornerstones of the BNS program.  The winner of the award is determined through discussion of the BNS steering committee, with feedback from faculty on qualities such as professionalism, citizenship, scholarship and enthusiasm for the discipline.  Each year since 1998, the BNS program recognizes the achievements of a graduating senior with this award.

If you are a graduating senior (Dec, May or August) with a GPA of at least 3.5 and would like to be considered for the Skavenski Award, please send an updated resume (including references), a one page cover letter highlighting your accomplishments, and a list of any relevant publications (optional) as a single PDF file to bns@northeastern.edu.  Please include “Skavenski Award Application” and your name in the subject line.  Applications will be accepted until March 15, 2018.  The winner will be announced on May 3, 2018 at the BNS graduation ceremony.

Year Skavenski Winner(s)
2017 Matthew Nguyen, Margee Kyada, Chloe Nobuhara

Noa is a Ph.D. student at Yale University in the Interdepartmental Neuroscience Program. She is interested in using both in vivo and in vitro models of neuronal injury and disease to understand mechanisms both of dysfunction and repair.

and Safiya Lahlaf

2015 Julia Ebert
2014 Katherine Price
2013 Dimira Tambunan
2012 Shradha Khadge and Rebecca Thibault
2011 Emily Wiecek
2010 Sarah Kark
2009 Julie Mocko
2008 Matthew Propert
2007 Mariko Howe
2006 Daniel Knudsen
2004 Judah Weathers
2003 Sharyn Rossi
2001 Andrea Crowell
2000 Jasmine Haque
1999 Andrea Pliakas
1998 Shwen Gwee