Van Dyke 3


Joyce Van Dyke

Part-Time Lecturer

Joyce Van Dyke is an award-winning playwright. Her most recent play, Deported / a dream play, was produced at the Modern Theatre in 2012. Other plays include The Oil Thief, A Girl’s War, and Love in the Gulf. Her work has been developed, commissioned, and produced by theaters in Boston and beyond, including Boston Playwrights’ Theatre, New Repertory Theatre, ArtsEmerson, Ensemble Studio Theatre, Golden Thread Productions, and the San Diego Actors Alliance Festival. Two published plays are available in Contemporary Armenian American Drama (Columbia University Press, 2004) and Laugh Lines: Short Comic Plays (Vintage, 2007).

Her other plays include The Oil Thief, originally commissioned by the Ensemble Studio Theatre / Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Science & Technology Project, which won Boston’s 2009 Elliot Norton Award for best new play in its Boston Playwrights’ Theatre production; and A Girl’s War, named one of the “Top Ten” plays of 2001 by the Boston Globe. A Girl’s War has been produced by Golden Thread Productions (2009), New Repertory Theatre (2003), and Boston Playwrights’ Theatre (2001), and won the John Gassner Playwriting Award, Provincetown Theatre Company Playwriting Award, and a nomination for the American Theatre Critics Association Steinberg New Play Award. It was published in Contemporary Armenian American Drama (2004). Other productions include Interview, commissioned and produced by ArtsEmerson (2010), The Earring, published in Laugh Lines: Short Comic Plays (Boston Theater Marathon, 2005), Not My Real Mother (Boston Theater Marathon, 2007); and Love in the Gulf (Boston Playwrights’ Theatre, 1996).

A MacDowell Colony Fellow and a Huntington Theatre Playwriting Fellow, Joyce is currently working on a new play inspired by Shakespeare’s Othello. She has a PhD from the University of Virginia, a master’s degree in playwriting at Boston University, and a BA from Stanford. She has published articles in academic journals on Shakespeare and other topics, and is a recipient of the Extension’s Petra T. Shattuck Excellence in Teaching Prize.

Meet other people