Grace Choi

Instructor, Composition

Grace Choi is a composer and a life long pianist. She received the Margaret Lee Crofts Fellowship from Tanglewood Music Center, Christoph and Stephan Kaske Fellowship from Wellesley Composers Conference, Gerald Oshita fellowship from Djerassi Arts Program, ASCAP/SCI first prize, Virginia Carty delillo Composition Prize from Peabody Conservatory, Grand Prize of Contemporary Music Society of Seoul, Korea, National Association of Composers USA Prize, and scholarships from ACDA, France, Hochschule für Musik Franz Liszt, Weimar, Germany, Brandeis University, Peabody Institute, Bowdoin International Music Festival, and Honors from Ibla Foundation, Italy. She received an Acanthes/IRCAM certificate. Her ensemble was released on Capstone Records. Her music was performed in Acanthes, France, Bowdoin International Festival, Maine, Domaine Forget, Quebec, Festival of Contemporary Experimento, Rome, Tanglewood Music Center, Weill Hall at Carnegie Hall, Festival of Women Composers, Chicago Chamber Musicians at Museum of Contemporary Art, June in Buffalo, Festival of International Visiting Composers, Midwest Graduate Music Consortium at University of Chicago, New Music Miami ISCM Festival, Hochschule für Musik Franz Liszt, SUNY Stony brook, Djerassi Arts Program, Festival Fiati in Italy, Kunst Merano in Italy, Baltimore Composer’s Forum, Wellesley Composers Conference MA, ASCAP/SCI National Conference NC, New York New Music Ensemble Concert, University of West Virginia, New Music Brandeis, California State University, SUNY Geneseo, University of Iowa, Bernstein Festival of the Arts, Ars Viva Concert MD, Sounds New Annual Concert in San Francisco. She studied at Brandeis University, Peabody Institute of Johns Hopkins University, and Seoul National University. Her teachers are David Rakowski, Martin Boykan, Eric Chasalow, Yehudi Wyner. She also had master classes with Bernard Rands, Augusta Read Thomas, Brian Ferneyhough, Jonathan Harvey, Betsy Jolas, Magnus Lindberg, Philippe Manoury, Wolfgang Rhim, Pascal Dusapin, John Corligliano, Robert Beaser, David Felder, Chinary Ung, and Charles, Mario Davidovsky, Wourinen, among others.

Meet other people