Cellular/Molecular Biology, Genetics, and Biochemistry

The Cellular/Molecular Biology, Genetics, and Biochemistry Group uses integrated approaches to study questions related to organismal development and repair. A unifying theme among the group is an interest in discovering mechanisms of dynamic developmental change, for example, the expression of key molecules promoting embryogenesis and regeneration, or interactions between circadian and developmental timing systems. We use cutting-edge genomic and proteomic analyses to pinpoint evolutionary changes in developmentally important genes, and sophisticated technology in gene imaging and quantification. Understanding the basic mechanisms that alter gene expression during development will lead to better understanding of the interaction of the genome with the environment and ultimately to the translation of basic research to new therapeutic approaches in the clinic. The group is supported by grants from the National Institutes of Health, the National Science Foundation, the Mathers Foundation, and Aid for Cancer Research. Associated with this group is the New England Inflammation and Tissue Protection Institute from which novel anti-cancer protocols, currently in clinical trials, have emerged from pioneering work on anti-hypoxia-adenosinergic immunotherapies of cancer. Publications from the Cellular/Molecular Biology, Genetics, and Biochemistry Group have appeared in Nature, Developmental Biology, and Neuroscience, among other distinguished journals, and have been featured in press releases, editorials, and videos.

Erin Cram
Erin Cram
Associate Professor
413B Mugar Building
617.373.7533
e.cram@neu.edu
Fred C. Davis
Fred C. Davis
Professor
134 Mugar Building
617.373.4039
f.davis@neu.edu
James Monaghan
James Monaghan
Assistant Professor
404 Mugar Building
617.373.6539
j.monaghan@neu.edu
Michail Sitkovsky
Michail Sitkovsky
Professor
113 Mugar Building
617.373.4157
m.sitkovsky@neu.edu
Wendy Smith
Wendy Smith
Associate Professor
433A Richards Hall
617.373.2600

w.smith@neu.edu
Dagmar Sternad
Dagmar Sternad
Professor
503 Richards Hall
617.373.5093
d.sternad@neu.edu
Jonathan Tilly
Jonathan Tilly
Professor and Chair
134 Mugar Building
617.373.2260
j.tilly@neu.edu
Dori Woods
Dori Woods
Assistant Professor
413 D Mugar Building
617.373.2851
d.woods@neu.edu
Günther KH Zupanc
Günther K.H. Zupanc
Professor
406 Mugar Building
617.373.8592
g.zupanc@neu.edu