University Distinguished Professors

Appointment to the rank of University Distinguished Professor is the highest honor Northeastern can bestow upon a faculty member. Those named University Distinguished Professor have earned international recognition and distinction for educational, artistic, and/or scholarly contributions that have been transformative in their field.

Award Recipients

AubryAlexandros Makriyannis, Professor, George D. Behrakis Endowed Chair, and Director of the Center for Drug Discovery

Professor Makriyannis is the intellectual force behind Northeastern’s world-renowned Center for Drug Discovery, where he serves as director. With dual appointments in the Departments of Chemistry and Pharmaceutical Sciences, he has fostered an interdisciplinary approach to drug development. He has created novel methods for target-based drug discovery while also inventing compounds that have potential as medications, shaping therapeutic drug development for neuropathic pain, drug addiction, and metabolic disorders. Widely respected for his mentoring of students and fellow faculty, Professor Makriyannis is the principal investigator on eight National Institutes of Health grants. He was recently awarded a National Merit Award, his second, from NIH’s National Institute on Drug Abuse.

AubryJonathan Tilly, Professor and Chair of the Department of Biology

An international leader in reproductive biology, Professor Tilly was a professor of obstetrics and gynecology at Harvard Medical School and led the Vincent Center for Reproductive Biology at Massachusetts General Hospital before joining Northeastern in 2013. As chair of Northeastern’s biology department and founder of the company OvaScience, he has provided hope of conception to infertile women through his pioneering research into ovarian stem cells. His patent portfolio, publication output, and research funding are exceptional in quality and scope. Professor Tilly’s many honors include a publication award from the American Society for Reproductive Medicine and the Richard E. Weitzman Memorial Award for Achievements in the Field of Endocrinology.