University Distinguished Professors

Appointment to the rank of University Distinguished Professor is the highest honor Northeastern can bestow upon a faculty member. Those named University Distinguished Professor have earned international recognition and distinction for educational, artistic, and/or scholarly contributions that have been transformative in their field.

Award Recipients

AubryMansoor M. Amiji, Distinguished Professor and Chair of the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, School of Pharmacy, Bouvé College of Health Sciences

Professor Amiji is an internationally recognized leader in pharmaceutical sciences and nanomedicine. His pioneering research addresses major challenges in translational biomedical sciences, especially in the delivery of molecular therapeutics for challenging diseases such as cancer, chronic inflammation, and central nervous system disorders. Professor Amiji is the author of several books and more than 200 peer-reviewed articles; he ranks in the top 1 percent of highly cited researchers in pharmacology and therapeutics, according to Thompson Reuters. He has mentored more than 80 master’s and doctoral students; every PhD graduate has advanced to prestigious positions throughout the world.

AubryDaniel McCarthy, the Alan S. McKim and Richard A. D’Amore Distinguished Professor of Global Management and Innovation, D'Amore-McKim School of Business

Professor McCarthy is an eminent scholar in international business and management, a discipline that’s central to the D’Amore- McKim School’s strategic plan. He has made lasting contributions to all aspects of the mission for more than 40 years. He has built an international reputation for seminal contributions to the strategy, entrepreneurship, innovation, and leadership disciplines within international business, and has been consistently ranked among the most productive and influential scholars in his field. Professor Mc- Carthy is also an innovative academic program creator and leader, serving for many years as the co-director of our High-Tech MBA program. His work has helped attract scores of faculty members.

AubrySrinivas Sridhar, Arts and Sciences Distinguished Professor of Physics, College of Science

Professor Sridhar’s renowned pioneering research and training programs have helped establish Northeastern as a worldwide leader in nanomedicine education. He holds an appointment as lecturer on radiation oncology at Harvard Medical School and has established extensive collaborations between Northeastern and prominent medical research institutions. With more than 200 published articles, Professor Sridhar’s groundbreaking, interdisciplinary expertise and research covers nanomedicine, neurotechnology, nanophotonics, quantum chaos, and superconductivity. When he served as vice provost for research, the university’s research portfolio more than doubled. As chair of the physics department, he increased undergraduate enrollment by 250 percent. He is an elected Fellow of the American Physical Society.