Award Recipients

52nd Robert D. Klein University Lecturer

Iris Berent, Professor of Psychology, College of Science
Professor Berent’s research examines the basis of the human capacity for language. She addresses the question from a broad interdisciplinary perspective, using a diverse set of methods, languages, and research populations (adults, children, and infants; typically developing readers and those with dyslexia). She has published extensively in top scientific journals, and her book, The Phonological Mind, was published in 2013. A sought-after speaker at top academic institutions in the U.S. and abroad, Professor Berent is also committed to disseminating her research findings to broader public audiences. She holds a master’s and doctorate in cognitive psychology from the University of Pittsburgh.

Previous Robert D. Klein University Lecturers include:

Professor Donald S. Pitkin 1964
Professor Morris A. Horowitz 1965
Professor Roy A. Weinstein 1966
Professor Roland L. Nadeau 1968
Professor Samuel Fine 1969
Professor Robert L. Wells 1970
Professor A. Howard Myers 1971
Professor Blanche Geer 1972
Professor Martha E. Francois 1973
Professor Samuel F. Morse 1974
Professor Richard Arnowitt 1975
Professor Barry L. Karger 1976
Professor Peggy B. Musgrave 1977
Professor John L. Neumeyer 1978
Professor Edith E. Flynn 1979
Professor Nancy J. Kopell 1980
Professor Robert L. Cord 1981
Professor Frederick Wiseman 1982
Professor Pran Nath 1983
Professor Harlan Lane 1984
Professor Philip W. LeQuesne 1985
Professor Fa Yueh Wu 1986
Professor Debra R. Kaufman 1987
Professor David Hall 1988
Professor Nicole F. Rafter 1989
Professor William C. Giessen 1990
Professor Michac K. Yegian 1991
Professor Suzanne P. Ogden 1992
Professor Jorge V. Jose 1993
Professor John H. Laub 1994
Professor John G. Proakis 1995
Professor Christine W. Gailey 1996
Professor Harlan D. Platt 1997
Professor Guy L. Rotella 1998
Professor Roger W. Giese 1999
Professor Albert Sacco, Jr. 2000
Professor William F.S. Miles 2001
Professor Arun Bansil 2002
Professor Sheila Puffer 2003
Professor Robert E. Gilbert 2004
Professor Barry Bluestone 2006
Professor Sanjeev Mukerjee 2007
Professor James Alan Fox 2008
Professor Joan Fitzgerald 2009
Professor Gloria J. Barczak 2010
Professor Vincent G. Harris 2011
Professor Carla Kaplan 2012
Professor Daniel Medwed 2013
Dagmar Sternad 2014
Kara Swanson 2015