Excellence in Research and Creative Activity Awards

This award is presented to a full-time faculty member to honor outstanding research and creative activity of national and international significance. The president and the provost determine the recipients on the basis of a faculty committee report of the nominations received.

Award Recipients

lewisElizabeth Maddock Dillon, Professor of English, College of Social Sciences and Humanities
Professor Dillon is an internationally recognized researcher in the field of early American literature and is considered among the most influential scholar-critics of her generation of Americanists. Her second book, New World Drama: Liberty, Slavery, and the Atlantic Public Sphere, 1649 –1849, published in 2014, is regarded by her peers as “the most significant contribution to the field of American studies of the past decade.” As a recent recipient of the American Council of Learned Societies Digital Innovation Fellowship and by serving as the founding co-director of the NULab for Texts, Maps, and Networks, Professor Dillon has played a key role in making Northeastern a leading institution in digital humanities.

lewisAlessandro Vespignani, Sternberg Distinguished University Professor in the College of Science, College of Computer and Information Science, and Bouvé College of Health Sciences
As the leader in the studies of spreading and diffusion processes on complex networks, Professor Vespignani has had a profound impact in physics, epidemiology, and computer science. The spread of the Ebola epidemic was slowed and contained by his network-based models. As the official modeler for the World Health Organization and the World Bank, Professor Vespignani’s network-based predictive tools became a game changer, potentially saving lives and reducing the economic impact of epidemics. He is the president of the Complex Systems Society, a member of the Academy of Europe, the founding director of Northeastern’s new Institute of Network Science, and director of the university’s first-in-the-nation network science doctoral program.