Honoring Excellence and Innovation

The annual Academic Honors Convocation celebrates the highest achievements of our distinguished community. A tradition launched in 2011 by President Joseph E. Aoun, this ceremony is one of the most significant events of the academic year.

This convocation honors the members of our community who, each year, channel their extraordinary talents and passion into transformative research and scholarship, exceptional teaching and mentoring, and the creation of new paths in higher education. Their accomplishments contribute greatly to Northeastern’s momentum and represent the very essence of Northeastern: an innovative university engaged with the world, on campus and around the globe, and an academic community committed to excellence.

   2016 Award Recipients

 Undergraduate Student Awards

  The Rhodes Scholarship
    Logan Jackson 

  Fulbright Fellowship
    Kristina Angeles
    Kelsey Burhans
    Esther Laaninen

  Critical Language Scholarship 
     Tallie Hausser
     Sydney Mokel

  Department of Energy Computational 
  Science Graduate Fellowship
     Julia Ebert

  National Science Foundation Graduate
  Research Fellowship
    Hope Ianiri

  The Boren Scholarship
Erin Bourque

  Thornton Tomasetti Foundation
  National Scholarship
    Julieta Moradei

  Udall Scholarship
     Tyler J. Hall

  Hodgkinson Award
    Maisam Alahmed
    Logan Jackson
    Victoria McGrath (posthumous)

  Presidential Global Fellows
   Océane Langreney
   Julia Hugunin


 Graduate Student Awards

  Outstanding Graduate Research
    Wenjun Zhang
    Anjuli Fahlberg

  Outstanding Graduate Teaching
    Nathaniel Bade
   Ashley Reichelmann

  Outstanding Graduate Community Service
   Sarah Brown

  Outstanding Graduate Experiential Learning
     Kathryn Robinson

 Staff Awards

  Outstanding Service Award
    Charles Kilfoye
    Nancy May

  Outstanding Team Award
    Russell J. Call Children¹s Center Team
       Regina Nazzaro
       Lee Ann Burdick
       Elizabeth Kadish
       Lisa Holden
      James O¹Brien     

 Faculty Honors

  Excellence in Research and Creativity
Jonathan L. Tilly

  University Excellence in Teaching
     Carlene Hempel
     Mya Poe

  Klein Lectureship
      Iris Berent

  University Distinguished Professors
Mansoor M. Amiji
     Daniel McCarthy
     Srinivas Sridhar

   Andrew Carnegie Fellowship
     Margaret Burnham



Event Information

Thursday, April 21, 2016
Ceremony at 1 pm
East Village, 17th floor

Reception to follow